Introduction of @somebuttstuff for your pleasure

My name is Chris, and I am an alcoholic…. Wait that’s not right… I am somebody that only has the average person’s knowledge of cryptocurrency and is in great need of a ten week course to go over everything and get a firm grasp of the concept of decentralized currency. I am an educator, an outdoor enthusiast, and a person that likes to write. I have yet to combine these three things into something great, but I’m holding out on Steemit to give me some motivation to put pen to paper, so to speak.
As an educator I have the issue of motivation on my mind a lot. What drives people is fascinating, especially when viewed from a behavioural perspective. I was drawn to Steemit and its currency because of this, since it provides one of the most powerful motivators as a reward for doing what most people will happily do for free. I’m curious to see how content generation and community cohesion will be affected by this added motivator, and whether it will be for the better, or for the worse.
As an aside, I’m excited to explore a new social media platform so close to its infancy. The last time I was in on the ground floor was when Google+ was trying to be the new and best thing. It was wild watching it and its community grow and develop, and not necessarily for the better. Now it’s more of a ghost town because its user base had no real motivation to continue using it once the novelty wore off. Perhaps Steemit will be different because of the added motivator and its benefits to the user, not to mention the thrill of watching the currency rise and fall in value.
In any case, I’m happy to be here, and I’d like to share many things with the community. A little outdoor adventures here, and some creative writing there, with some inquisitive posts about cryptocurrency and the mechanics of the site. It should be fun.

Here is a picture of my dog if you got bored and decided to scroll to the bottom:

11821331_983729201647429_13960361_n.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center