Hello Steemit - Live From Rikers Island A.K.A Laundry Room

I have always grown up in a strict household. Honestly, when people ask me what my first word was, I respond with “grounded.” Therefore, being grounded for me is quite the norm.

MVIMG_20180126_180422.jpg

If you were to calculate all the months I’ve been grounded this past year, it is safe 9 out of the 12 months of the year. Now if you’re still reading this blogpost, you can gather that:

  1. I have to be a terrible child aka the spawn of Satan or
  2. My parents are assholes and worship Hitler’s satanic ways.

Well guess what? It’s a little of both. I never wanted to write this blogpost and the only reason I did was because I was threatened to do so with.... you guessed it! Being grounded! So here I am writing it. Mom if you're reading this, I poured salt in your Turkish coffee this morning.

Anyways, enjoy this depressing list I made of things to do when being grounded :) ! And if you’re wondering what I actually do to get grounded, it ranges from wearing my hair in a bun, to stealing a car (my mom's) to hiding boys in my laundry room.

Twelve Things About Being Grounded:

  1. When people doubt your grounded-ness, hit them with the, “ Yes, I once did get grounded for a month because my hair was in a bun.”
  2. Laundry actually becomes fun
  3. Whenever someone asks to do something— “Sorry I can’t... I'm grounded.”
  4. Cry some more
  5. Hit that Juul
  6. Strict parents? I can write a whole book on that.
  7. Cry a bit, because your life actually sucks.
  8. HGTV becomes your life.
  9. Somehow learn how to bake despite burning every batch of brownies ever attempted before
  10. Start thinking about new hobbies to do
  11. Laugh, or as I like to say, “Geek” about it.
  12. Accept the fate of that L

hitler_photo.jpg

laundry_room.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center