RE: RE: 1st post :-)
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1st post :-)

RE: 1st post :-)

Ok, well you starting with hard topic, but from the other side I should expect questions from you, I guess you are rather non-statist and oppose an imposed forms of governance (if I am not wrong). Would you specify what do you mean by unelected? Is that mean that normal people like me can vote only on representatives to EP as the other on higher positions are chosen by the governments etc? And regarding the high salaries well, I do not think that majority goes there because of idealistic reasons - they rather go for power i.e. money and position. And to clarify I wouldn't say that I am very closely to it :-D It is not easy for me to conclude whether they should earn less, as you probably aware the good pay for politicians suppose to help them to not fall for the bribe - whether it works that is another question - also the higher position the bigger responsibility. Now there are also another questions whether all the positions are needed, what direction EU is taking, whether there is enough transparency etc. I will be honest it would be easier for me to answer your question if it would be more specified (assuming that I know the answer, because I may not). I am aware that some EU positions maybe set because of the connections (in fact already there were some great scandals with it) but from the other side it is worth it to ask how many people are truly interested in politics and would be voting for the EU. If you look at the voting statistics in Europe in the national elections the turnout isn't really high. So I doubt that if people would have to vote for any politician in the EU that they would get more engaged in it. I know that does not really answer your question but I cannot answer you simply - yes you right that horrible or no you wrong they have right to do so.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center