From Russia with Love

sergeybiryukov.jpg

Hello Steemit! My name is Sergey Biryukov, I'm a web developer from Rostov-on-Don, Russia.

I have a passion for open source, which started with contributing to DOS Navigator (anyone remember what it is?) in 2002. In a couple of years, while developing some websites for my university, I've discovered a growing web publishing software called WordPress, which looked promising. Giving back to the community was a natural thing for me, so I've started translating WordPress into Russian, answering questions on support forums, and participating in core development. This turned out to be way more exciting for me than any client project I worked on before.

Thanks to Yoast, now I'm working on WordPress full time as a core committer and an active member of several other teams: Polyglots (which translates WordPress into 100+ languages), Support (which helps users to find answers to their questions), and Meta (which manages the WordPress.org network). I'm also a frequent speaker at WordPress conferences, called WordCamps, in Russia and Europe.

CIMG1224.JPG

Another hobby of mine is music. I played guitar, bass guitar, and keyboard in several rock bands over the years. Some records are available here: http://citadel-group.ru/mp3 (in Russian), I hope to record some songs in English in the future :)

In my spare time I enjoy watching movies or Netflix, listening to music (mostly classic rock), going out for a walk, or riding a bicycle. My favorite TV shows are MacGyver (the original one) and Quantum Leap.

You can find me online on Facebook, GitHub, Twitter, VK, or my personal site.

Looking forward to get involved in the Steemit community!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now