First Article! Therapeutic Ramblings of a New York City Cop. #introduceyourself

Hello Steemit!

RyguyNYC here, and this is my attempt at an online "journal" of sorts dedicated to providing a public platform for discussion and insight into various aspects of the law enforcement profession. First off, I'd like to say that all avenues of thought are welcome in the comments, and that I am completely open to engaging in respectful, productive discourse of all kinds. I'll be posting anecdotes and stories, along with some picture content that, I hope, will give the reader a glimpse into the every day life of a New York City cop. One of my greatest hopes is that this blog can help to dismantle some of the mystique surrounding my profession. So, as I am quickly approaching retirement, I hope to build this blog into a rewarding side project, both for my own therapeutic enjoyment as well as the Steemit Community.

I first joined the police department after attending Fordham University in the Bronx, and subsequently earning my Master's Degree in Criminal Justice and Criminology from CUNY (City University of New York). Since then, I've worked in all five boroughs (for those of you who are unfamiliar, the 5 boroughs are Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, and Staten Island), serving all sorts of neighborhoods and communities; I even served a small stint as a "rat" in the Internal Affairs Bureau. It's been a long haul, but here I am!

I'd like to add that I am somewhat Libertarian in my philosophies, and I truly believe that the decriminalization of petty crimes is a concept that desperately needs to be further explored in the USA. My views have sometimes put me at odds with the NYPD bureaucracy over the course of my career, but I believe I am better for it.

I'm also going to be posting thought pieces from the philosophical side; exploring the current role of law enforcement in American society, and comparing this role with different concepts of justice developed over time by some of humanity's greatest philosophers. So, I welcome all fellow Steemers to my page! I'd love for this experience to be as honest, thought provoking, and educational as possible for myself and this community.

14c71cc98b4ce9bd27de4f03def68fec.jpg

(Diclaimer: "Desk Pops" are not a real thing).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now