STEEMIT NEWBIE: A Little Glimpse of Who Really I Am

Hello, Steemit family!

I am Gerel Mae Cortes from Cebu Philippines and here's my story...


I grew up having no parents by my side. My father left us when I was still 1 year old and 9 months and my mother died a few months after. Though my father still is alive, I consider myself and my younger sister as orphans.

Since the death of my mother, our grandparents took care of us and since they don't have stable income, there are times when we don't have enough food to eat. I remember some times when we just have table salt as our dish and paired it with rice. So at the early age, I started to find ways to make a living.

Despite doing some part time works while studying, I still was able to get high grades. In fact, I've ranked Top 1 in our class consistently since grade 1 until 4th year high school. I also passed some scholarships which helped me a lot to finish studying. One of it is the Department of Science and Technology-JLSS Scholarship. This scholarship really helped me a lot during my college days and because of this, I was able to obtain a Bachelor’s Degree in Secondary Education major in Mathematics from Cebu Normal University and graduated Cum Laude on March 28, 2017. 




I have also received an award from the DOST after graduation.


Well, I'm sharing this to you not to brag but I just want to share to you how God has blessed me. I was able to surpassed those challenges because I know and I believe that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13). 


And now, while my career of being a teacher hasn't started yet, I'm engaging myself to the beauty of Steemit. In this way, I'll be able to slowly make one of my dreams come true and that is to be an author.

So long, Steemit family!

To know more about me, just stay tuned and follow me! @marysent :)

You might read my other posts as well. :)
https://steemit.com/university-campaign/@marysent/joining-the-steemit-s-campaign-at-the-university-of-cebu
https://steemit.com/life/@marysent/god-never-fails

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center