Introduction and Thoughts on Steemit and the Arts

Hello to you all! I am new here, having just made my account. I wanted to give a small introduction to myself and the potential I see in the platforms built on the steem blockchain.

I will be going by @leftbehind around these parts, and I am mainly interested in the intersection of creation and technology, mainly in the audio production sphere. I spent many years demoing and tracking on various proprietary platforms such as Logic, Waves, etc, but have always had an interest in transitioning to a more FLOSS DAW. The main reason being DRM locking down all of this audio production software as well as the exorbitant cost of plugins and software that put it out of reach for lower-income individuals. I hope to create content in the near future that shows my journey to break free of these massive media companies and produce amazing mixes using FLOSS solutions.

While I have figured out an extremely satisfactory workflow using the software available under the GPL, syndication continues to be a challenge. A few years back before I discovered steem, I had envisioned a platform which would allow direct sharing and payment of audio, sessions, and stems under a variety of licenses, but lacked the technical knowledge to build it. I was looking to put content creators on a more level playing field than YouTube, Tunecore, or Soundcloud could provide, and it would be built on the premise of community.

Fast-forward to now, steem seems to provide an excellent backend for payment and publication of original works, and seems to do so seamlessly! DSound and DTube provide the same ease of use for end-users, while introducing easy payment to content creators with no intermediary, no censorship, and no advertisements. While I am sure it will have its quirks, and improvements will need to be made, there seems to finally be a reprieve from the ad-ocalypse the rest of the internet has become, as well as the amount of control internet conglomerates exercise over users.

I look forward to joining this community and contributing what I can! leftbehind
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center