A little more about me. :)

Hi again everyone!!

So last time we met I introduced myself somewhat minimally... I was a bit distracted with preparing for my art show, and really wanted to get a post up before handing out my business card with this url, so wasn't really thinking clearly about what all I might share!

The art show was an incredible success, by the way. The official guest count for the overall event (a block party outside my building) exceeded 13,000!!! This, in little Sacramento. I'm a bit of a hermit/homebody so this was quite a shock for me! But everywhere you looked you saw smiles, delicious food, awesome art, interesting fashions, and people having fun.

Here's a video from the roof of my building taken by the manager about midway through the event:
https://www.facebook.com/kvenable/videos/10108019184451978/

So here's a little more about me (and hopefully tagging with introduceyourself again is okay here!):

I'm 30 years old and even though I suffer from chronic migraines and have back problems, I am starting to understand what people always meant when they told me to just wait until I'm older any time I complained of pain. I still don't think it's chill to minimize the pain of younger folks, but wow yeah I'm noticing some changes! Fortunately I have some great wellness practices in place, including regular massage and Rolfing (Structural Integration -- it's INCREDIBLE I highly recommend checking it out!!), so my pain is actually much less than it used to be. :)

I have worked for 7 years in the behavioral side of special education. I LOVE it, especially as a 1:1 aide, because I get to see all the areas of support for my kiddo -- speech therapy, occupational therapy, academic supports, and behavior. Gotta love a good, efficient, effective, comprehensive support system in any setting. I also love forming a close bond and rapport with my kiddo, as well as all the students in their class. Possibly one of my favorite things is being a positive, respectful, exemplary adult in a child's life.

I grew up in Sacramento, California, went to college at the University of Washington in Seattle, Washington, lived in Denver, Colorado briefly, and moved back to Sacramento, California about 6 years ago to be near my family -- both the aged and dying, and the gestating and newly born. We're fast approaching the 4th anniversary of my grandpa's passing (which happened in possibly the most beautiful way an expected death can happen, late in the night of July 4th) and the 6th birthday of my eldest niece (wait, what??? how did that happen??). My sweet grandmother's memory is nigh nonexistent beyond about a minute or two, but her attitude and sense of humor are as pleasant as ever.

I have a BA in psychology and this fall I am beginning my graduate school journey to obtain a Master's of Education degree in School Counseling through USC's online platform. The program has a major focus on restorative justice and trauma-informed practices, so suffice to say I am BEYOND excited!

I'm a self-taught artist since a young age, and other hobbies include reading, listening to podcasts, going for long walks, diy project planning and execution, and keeping up with a variety of shows from various streaming platforms. I probably do other things too, but I don't typically think of my behaviors in the form of defined lists, so that's what you get! :)

I value compassion & kindness above all else, and am very interested in social justice.

A someday goal of mine is to adopt and/or foster children, because there is such immense need. Of course I also want to adopt and/or foster lots of dogs. :)

I have a dog, and have had her for the past 9 years. I adopted her when she was 5. I don't know a lot about her life before then, but she was definitely emotionally neglected, and possibly abused. She was abandoned, but as far as I know never homeless. She is 14 now and we have both grown so much since finding each other. I love her unbearably much and am thankful every moment for her stellar senior health. <3

That's about it for now! Stay tuned soon for a DIY with foam board...!

Here's an adorable pic of my hazel-bean/hazel-basil, crazy hazy, sweet love (Hazel). And me. It's about 3-4 years old, back when we lived by the river:
sfd.jpg

Here's a more recent one of my sweet girl, who is also a champion napper. (don't worry, we're working on trimming those long nails back!) <3 :
20180608_145319.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center