Trying to bring my love of vintage computers & retro video games to Steemit!

     This is a screen grab from one of my videos.  I'm in mid-sentence.     

How you doin' Steemit community?

Justin M. Salvato from NEPA here.  NEPA is an acronym for North East Pennsylvania.  No one outside of NEPA uses that term...  Actually, I lived in NEPA off & on since the late 1990s.  I was raised in Queens, New York.  From city life to rural town, I'm cool with it.  Not sure I could do city life again.  NYC is only a couple hours away by car if I need to be reminded of why we left...  So TJ Allard (just an Emmy Award winning producer...) recommended I go to Steemit, so here I am.

In person, I'm quite standoffish, at least that's what I've been told.  When I'm comfortable, I can get really goofy and have been known to tell many corny jokes that 3rd graders would be proud to tell.  When it comes to politics, I tend to go off the rails, because I can't contain my disdain for the oligarchy we have here in the United States.  I'm a former amateur boxer, so it should be no surprise to see me shadowbox from time to time.

So why did I come to Steemit?  

To find  another place to share my hobbies.  I feel like I have many, but the one I spend the most time on is vintage computing.  Not so much using them, but reading about them; I do collect vintage personal computers.  I also enjoy retro video gaming, shocking I know!  

I always had a fascination for computers, but as a 40 year old, I am interested in how personal computers have evolved, got smaller, faster, and more portable over time.  We've gone from the big breadbox type computers like the Commodore 64 & Apple II to smartphones with hundreds of times more computing power.  And now I line my home office with those old computers as well as some smartphones.  To discuss these things on the internet and make videos about them, I DO use a modern PC ;)

I'm going to list some of my favorite things, but the reality is, it's always changing and quite difficult to pick just one thing, but here goes:

Favorite book:  The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner 

Favorite music: 80s pop, classic rock & old school rap & hip hop (can't pick just one)

Favorite movie(s): Cinderella Man, The Rookie, Rocky, Tucker: A Man & His Dream 

Favorite video game: Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

Favorite sport: Boxing - THIS WILL NEVER CHANGE

Favorite pastry: Cannoli

Favorite food: pretty much anything greasy...

Here's a video that should give you an idea of what my videos are about.




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center