My Self Introduction: A Personal Genesis

IMG_5674 (3).PNG

Hello

My last name is Burns, and this is my #IntroduceYourself (and hence, first) post on SteemIt. As I understand it, trust seems to be something of a commodity here, so I must ask for your forgiveness - It is out of habitual fear that I don't share my full name or face reveal. It is my hope that will not impede my ability fully to find my slice of the pie on SteemIt, or hinder you in your evaluation of my words. There is a power in ambiguity, after all.

Who I Am

I am a teenage male currently residing in the Midwest of the US, but was raised along the shores of the Chesapeake Bay (the bay is, at the very least, where I identify my childhood to reside). I am an INTP political moderate (primarily conservative) and completely open to discourse considering my views. My experience with social media entails having ran (both on Instagram) an unsuccessful photography page, and a meme page that was deleted at 24.6k followers. Both were worth the experiences in their own right, but were also experiments not meant to last. I am, as far as I can tell, more of a polymath in subject matter and behavior than the average person my age. My interests have carried me to geology, paleontology, wetlands ecology, martial arts, poetry, philosophy, photography, Native American history, psychology, theology, and most recently - the world of the horse. I (relatively) recently purchased a rescue Kentucky Mountain Saddle Horse.
The themes and style included in my poetry are inspired by Pablo Neruda, Elisavietta Ritchie, and Wendell Berry (I have been told, at the very least). My modus operandi for photography, so to speak, has prototypically been to capture simple (but not minimalist) photos and edit them to have a more washed-out and melancholic feel.
If it is of any value to you, I admire and look up to the minds of Diogenes, Marcus Aurelius, Carl Jung, Teddy Roosevelt, John Steinbeck, and the Canadian clinical psychologist Jordan B. Peterson.

I'm not gonna lie - my initial motivation to join SteemIt was when I had learned that influence and the exchange of ideas had become monetized. After having read up a bit more, I realized SteemIt is more than just that. From what I have seen already, SteemIt proves itself to be a social medium and a place where I can nestle in a young community. I believe this might be the final path I travel on with social media, for a long time at least.

What You Can Expect

Unfortunately, with the many diverse investments in different themes that I have, I can promise no rigid consistency in subject matter for my posts. HOWEVER, I can promise quality in said subject matter. I think I will have one post dedicated once a week for poetry, one for photography, and one for an essay on politics or psychology. I will gladly take any recommendations, suggestions, or tips to getting started.
And, a final request for people who have somehow made it this far into the post: If my self-description calls to mind the account of someone similar (even yourself), could you point me their way? My first goal is to find and embed myself in a worthwhile community.

Many Thanks

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center