I'm Fran and I'm Quitting the Traditional Workforce to Start a Flower Farm Business

flower-1969199_1280.jpg

What do you want to be when you grow up?

A question I've been asked since I could walk and am still plagued by going on 31 years old. I had always thought I wanted to be an architect. So I went to college. One architecture degree and a dozen jobs later, I've decided I'm going to start a flower farming business in Buffalo, New York. I just moved here three months ago.

I'm a farmer-florist.

I grow organic flowers for a living - 60+ varieties of the most delicious colors, scents and textures you could ever lay your face into. I sell specialty stems to other local florists, and I transform my blooms into beautiful arrangements for people to trade me for lots of money. We're talking wedding reception money. It's pretty great.

Thing is, there's a catch. I haven't started this business yet. It's dead frigid January in Buffalo, which means absolutely no flower planting can be done until April or May. I have, however, been diligently planning my farm and look forward to sharing my farm business journey with you all here on Steemit!

Other than growing flowers, I write an organic gardening blog at http://heirloomsoul.com, so on Steemit I will share my knowledge of food gardening, which I've gained from growing and teaching in over 150 unique vegetable gardens.

I'm Fran and I'm quitting the traditional workforce to start a flower farm business. I look forward to sharing my journey with you!

peace, love, plant magic.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now