Introducing a PhD student to the steemit community :)

Hello all!

I have just signed up to Steemit and thought I'd introduce myself so here it goes :)

My name is Kal - half Scottish/Libyan from Edinburgh, Scotland. I am currently a full-time PhD candidate working on a structural engineering project based on the design and analysis of glass structures. To get me here I completed my Bachelor Honours Degree in Civil Engineering and Master of Science in Renewable Energy where I focused my thesis on solar energy (I must be crazy to have agreed to come back for another three years ha).

I have quite a wide range of interests, the main ones are:

Martial arts - I train Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and hold a blue belt, a little Muay Thai and have competed in semi-pro MMA a while back.

Health and fitness - I like to eat well and exercise, although I am an on-and-off coffee addict!

Music taste - Mostly trance and deep proggy stuff, love the trance classics!

Some other side interests include travelling, men's clothing, watches and cryptocurrency .. the latter of which I started reading about back in late November and this led me to discover Steemit, as I branched out my research from bitcoin to altcoins. I'm now looking forward to joining a new online community, contributing some of the things I've learned and experienced and learning new things from others. Some of the content I will be posting will probably be across a wide range but some areas will be posted more often than others, such as:

  • Engineering and infrastructure posts, both industry and academic
  • Experience as a student and advice for fellow students
  • Health and Fitness (training, meals and some of the things I do to improve myself physically and mentally)
  • Men's style and watches
  • Travel, I am planning to head over to SE Asia over winter and will be sure to share
  • Cryptocurrency, although I am still very much a learner here!

If any of the above interest you please give me a follow and I very much look forward to seeing all of your content and feedback :)

Kind regards,
Kal
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now