A brief introduction

Hi! I am Gloria, a Brazilian woman based in Berlin, Germany. I will try to present myself in a way which shows what I do and how can I contribute with the Steemit community.  

[That's me in a nice snapchat filter: How you doin' ? ;)]

I have a four year old daughter, and have been happily married for almost 10 years. One of my hobbies is taking pictures of the people I love.

[My beloved husband and daughter]

I am a social scientist and urban ethnographer. I am interested on a range of research subjects: inequalities, motherhood and informal practices in urban contexts, social cognition and anthropological ethnobotany. Currently I am writing my doctoral thesis on motherhood practices in the central area of São Paulo. 

[Collective habitation in the central area of São Paulo.Field Research, 2015]

Since 2010, I have been diagnosed with SLE, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, which is a chronic auto-immune illness. Since then, I have been educating myself about auto-immune diseases and well-being. It has been a rich and enhancing journey which I will be glad to share further on with the community.

[That is me with my rosy cheeks and blemishes because of Lupus. No make up, and very happy!]


I am also an amateur musician, I used to sing in band before moving to Germany. I love all kinds of music, from punk to reggaeton. Though I guess, Latin music will always be my favorite.

[Singing with Somato. Florianópolis, Brazil. 2013]


With that you can learn a little bit more about me, but if any doubt pops up, just give me a hint and I will gladly be in contact! I hope to learn with your contributions and exchange a lot of knowledge and experiences with you!


[To finish... my little family!]

Love, Gloria


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center