I'm F.O.C.I. // I make album & track cover art as a way to show my appreciation to dope artists

I'm new, so here's some background: I go by F.O.C.I., which is the short-form of "Fresh Out, Check It", a name I've been releasing music cover-art under for about a year or so now (plenty long breaks included). Where I started is a bit diferent than what I do today, though; Between 2011-2013 is when I began creating "professionally" as a subcontractor (completing work for clients on behalf of a marketing company/org) mostly working on marketing-related print and web design, made possible by a handful of small marketing firms

Again, that was in 2011-2013... For better or worse, I got burnt out and discovered that designing for a living wasn't what I had envisioned it to be. I didn't really create much of anything for about 3 years (2013-2016) following that period

Eventually (late 2016ish) , I found myself being drawn more and more into music... With a lack of patience, and despite the fantasy of becoming a music producer, I found a much more familiar "in" than years of developing a production skillset: Design. Specifically, the fulfilling yet small niche of album/cover art design

Fast forward to now; I work full-time (in a field unrelated to art) and make album/track cover art for both fun, and, more importantly, as a way to give back to artists I think are dope. I am super inconsistent in putting stuff out (because of work etc.), hence never really building up a solid following...and here we are... present day

I've been trying to "ship" my art with this dope producer Vague003 more and more lately, being that hes got a really contagious aesthetic.. on top of the fact that I've been a fan of his sound ever since I heard "Alone" a year or two ago

Luckily, our senses seem to vibe well together which has led him to feature my art on a number of his releases and displaying it to his growing fan base, ultimately getting my stuff out in the open— At least, beyond the openness my "social" media accounts offer (consisting of an underwhelming~150 followers: a product of not posting consistently)

This way of organic and natural growth, in terms of building eventual recognition, is something I've began to get really attached to. There's also something dope about the idea of combining two mediums of expression together in such a small package like an album or track

Anyways, hopefully that gives you a rough idea of where I'm coming from

Finally:
they're nothing too involved, but here are the covers I did for one of Vague003's recent releases, "Wilting" :

A re-hash of an unused I've been holding onto: 

WILTING1.png

and  something recent:  

WILTING1.png

Thanks for checking these out, hopefully I get the opportunity to put out more covers for 003 (and a few other dudes) coming up soon.

Check out my social media to see some past covers I've done... They're mostly alternative covers ("unofficial"), though all are original art nonetheless:

Instagram | Twitter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center