Introduction: Environmental Scientist and Crypto Enthusiast

Hello everyone,

I have been a Steemit member since March, but I have only gotten around to actively browsing and posting in the past couple days. My name is Drew, and I am a soon-to-be PhD graduate in Environmental Science. I'm originally from the US, but have been living in China for the past seven years, the four most recent spent in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong is great place to live, if you can stand the heat and humidity, with mixture of:

Big city life

Hiking

and Beaches

My primary field of research involves the multigenerational impacts of estrogen pollution on reproductive and immune function in fish. I am also doing other ecotoxicology work related to the impacts of benzo-a-pyrene, a product of combustion, on fish bone formation.

Some of my other scientific interests include gene editing using CRISPR/Cas9 and epigenetic inheritance. In addition, I am a proponent of using a combined –omics approach (transcriptomics, proteomics, methylome data, etc.) for gaining a deeper understanding of the underlying genetic and epigenetic mechanisms leading to altered phenotypes. If there is interest, I hope to post more related to this in the future (once my oral defense in completed).

As of late, my main hobbies are cryptocurrency investment/trading and traveling. I hope to be able to learn from, and contribute to, the Steemit community in both of these areas. My friend @dihyrogeno is the one who convinced me to sign up for Steemit in the first place, and (as a long time redditor) I see great potential in the platform. We are working on a crypto-related youtube channel to discuss our success and failures during the past year of crypto investing. The coins that I am presently excited about are COSS, Kucoin, and Raiblocks.

Finally, my favorite activity is playing ice hockey, and surprisingly Hong Kong has a thriving hockey scene. I have been playing goalie since I was 6 years old, and recently switched to defense further increasing my love of the game. Hockey has helped me make countless friendships, meet people from all over the world, and is one of the best forms of stress relief after long days in the lab.

Glad to meet you all, and I look forward to becoming an active member of the Steemit community.

Cheers,
Drewbix

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center