Hellooooo, Hivers!

Hi there!

It is so gooooood to be here!

My name is Deborah. My friends call me Debs, Debsie, Debsie-websie...and Bubbles. Because, apparently, I'm bubbly (not like drunk-bubbly, but happy-bubbly. I like to laugh. A lot.)

FB_IMG_1644782373854.jpg

I am a Gambian, Nigerian, Senegalese, with a sprinkle of Filipino - in that order.

My parents are Nigerian missionaries to The Gambia, a teeny country in Africa - where I was born.

Gambia is nicknamed The Smiling Coast of Africa. (See? This is why I laugh so much!) Gambians are very happy people. Literally some of the friendliest you would ever meet!

From Gambia, I moved to Sénégal to live in a boarding school...located in a village...far away from the city. It was almost as cool as Hogwarts! My favourite memories are doing the rain dance to welcome the first thunderstorm...eating buckets of mangoes...and crazy hair days!

Screenshot_20220410-174711_WhatsApp.jpg

After high-school, I studied medicine in the Philippines (hence the sprinkle of Filipino).

FB_IMG_5309224183226530396.jpg

FB_IMG_5171178187500628359.jpg

I recently moved to Nigeria a year ago to practice. My oh my! Working here is an adventure!
The colours, the emotions, the heat, the drama - Nigeria is an entire symphony.

20211120_094603.jpg

I love my faith. I love to travel and have lots of adventures. I love to read. I love to string words together in wonderful and awkward ways. I love stories with happy endings. I love music - but my brothers say I have the melodious voice of a mouse in labour. (We had a mouse in labour once. Sweet torture.) I like to dance with my two left feet.

IMG-20220410-WA0007.jpg

Deep, deep, deep inside, I want to be a Disney Princess. (Preferably Mulan. She is badass.)

20201229_142220.jpg

I hate cats and lizards and snakes and garlic bread and people who oppress other people. (Wow. That went dark really fast!)

Here at Hive, I hope to have a blast meeting new people - like you.

@draysax referred me here. I am very glad he did, and that he is patiently teaching me how this works.

So far, I have joined these communities:
@OCD
@gems-community
@proofofbrainio
@ladiesofhive
@motherhood
@curie

...and I cannot wait to learn tons from them!

I also hope to finally be motivated and challenged to write more often. I hope to share medical stuff.
I hope to also learn more about tech...and to have loads and loads of fun.

My dream is to make the world a better place - one kind act at a time. While finding excuses to giggle as you spread light, of course.

IMG-20201213-WA0318.jpg

That is the summary, really. I hope we get to be friends!

Pictures are all mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center