portrait of the Steemian as a wash-up artist

Welcome to my Intro post..

grab a drink and sit for a spell...

hi hello!

I've done a ton of these for all the online course I have taken..

Who am I? Why am I here? What do I aim to learn?

Done so many of these that I get kinda bored from doing them, to be honest. The usual format, the usual info..

But I get it, you don't know me.. I don't want to belittle the process. I like reading about what everyone else is up to.. but I think from my side, I just get tired of hearing myself talk.. So keep sharing. And I'll just be over here reading it all.

Who am I?

Great question... the kind of thing first asked during University days and never answered no matter how many late nights are spent drinking Scotch.

When I think abuut us, here on this tiny sphere of mud circling this rather anonymous star.. I kind of like the quote: "we are cardon based bags of water.."

Or the ole famous Douglas Adams "mostly harmless"

Why are we here?

..you get the idea. I am just a being on this planet that lives, experiences things, and will eventually return to dust..

We are here such a short time, and when we finally wake up and realize we are here.. now, this now, ready to grasp at life we dotdotdot.

But listen, I don't think it all pointless, quite the opposite. I just don't know yet what any of it means. My tiny brain is too small to figure it out, to be honest, so rather than try to push straws around to map out the blueprint to reality.. I think we all should find our own way..

What do I aim to learn?

One time, when we were all hanging out on the porch of a hunting lodge, after a day of treeplanting.. our 20something selves marveled at all the jobs we had had..

We went through and all shared over end-day beers. Some of mine at the time: crossing guard, janitor, delivery guy, A/V set-up tech, treeplanter, house painter, deli counter staff, babysitter, landscaper, college radio tech repair..

And so, I can tell you what I have done in my life, and that will give you some idea of how I ended up here.. if that helps..

Since then: Writer, Poet, Radio Electronics Tech, Math and Science Tutor, Counselor, Electronics Engineer, Project Manager, Business Analyst, Stage Manager, Producer, Comedian, Quality Assurance tester, Coding-faker

And I can tell you what I am interested in: science, reading, politics, arts, medieval history, sci-fi, punk rock, martial arts, pop culture, technology, cultural studies, psychology, coffee, brunch, podcasts.. seriously, pretty much a little bit of everything and more... And yet, I know so little about any of it..

.. but none of this gives you any real ideal of who I am (or who anyone really is.. I mean, we are shifting identities continually throughout a day to be who we need to be for each moment of time..)

But some key ideas capture my essence. I am a rule stickler who hates rules. I want to become more knowledgeable so I can know more, I would never join a group that would have me as a member, I hate contraction but contradict myself continually..

So there you have it. A life hardly examined.


This pic is a year old, but it sufficiently captures my weltanschauung



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now