Introduction!

Hello Steemit. I'm Jeeseok, 23 years in Korean age(22 in most other countries), living in Seoul, South Korea. I am a junior studying Economics and Law in my school.

That's right. I have two ages. We Koreans have our own age counting system. We consider new born babies 1 year old, and get older every beginning of the year. Which means, everyone ages at the same time. It's funny however, that we use standard age counting system(the one most of you might be using) when it's about legal standard, like smoking or drinking.

These slight cultural changes sometimes causes trouble to foreigners. And that's what I would like to talk about in my posts. More specifically, how Koreans live or think, the places or activities you could enjoy, and many other things about my country.


Nightview of Seoul. There are castle walls in some part of the city, and this is one of them.
(by. Seoul Metropolitan Fire & Disaster Headquarters)

I was born in here, but fortunately had many chances to live abroad. I lived in Germany for 4 years(can't speak a single German though. I attended international school there), America for a year, and travelled many other countries. What these experiences taught me was the joy of learning other cultures. But sadly, in my experience, not much people knew about Korea. And that's understandable, since even I do not know every culture of every countries.

Still, some of you could visit Korea, maybe for a trip, maybe for a gap year, or many other purposes. Or maybe you could just be interested in knowing things you didn't know before. My goal is to be a good guide when that happens. I would post as many perspectives, views, and aspects of Korea.


This is the watershow held in Han River, the main river of Seoul. The tower that you can see at the back is Namsan Tower, one of the most famous landmarks in Seoul. Think of Space Needle, so to speak. The view is much more beautiful if you see it in your own eyes.

Unfortunately, uploads could be a little slow, because I'm having a hard time following my coursework and have other activities I'm participating. And I cannot hang around as much as I want, which means my posts about restaurants or tour spots could be limited to Seoul, the place where I live. Also, though I lived in America, that was a long time ago, and sadly my English skills didn't last forever. My spellings, grammars, and expressions could be wrong, the part I ask for your understanding.

I would do my best to become a best guide you can ever meet online. So, starting from some part of this week, I would begin posting, and the first post might be about North Korea. The thought of South Koreans, how they affect our everyday lives, and so on. Until then, hope you all have nice days!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now