JUDGE ME BY MY COVER - Introduction post.

Let’s start with the basics. My name is Sugar. I’ve just recently completed my Law undergraduate program after a few failed attempts. I am Igbo, Nigerian but I’d give anything to vanish from this country.

Anyways, I like to think of myself as a simple girl trapped on the not- so- simple side of life. I’ve lived through many lives, had my fair share of life shaping experiences, lost my mind a few times, got my heart broken a couple times or more, loved, lost; but I’m still here, whole on the outside but fragmented on the inside.

Writing has always been my way of saving myself. I fell in love with reading and writing at a young age, it was my way of saving myself from my own self. The simple art of putting down words yet has so much power and influence to it.
While I love writing, I also have a huge problem with sharing my pieces, it’s everything from imposter syndrome to anxiety. I’ve always had difficulty letting people into my head but I guess that’s about to change now with Hive. Thanks to @machioflagos and @readthisplease for hooking me up with this opportunity to put little pieces of mind out there.

2E844280-9DCA-4207-BEB4-26FB31410ECD.jpeg

So, I’m all about a soft and quiet life; soft love, soft connections, soft kisses. I’m a sucker for love and all things mushiness. In this hard knock life, I want my loved ones constantly enveloping me in hugs and raining kisses on me all day all year long.
I love feelings, the sweet ones, the confusing ones and the not so good ones. Vulnerability was a tough nut to crack for me but once I found my safe space and safe humans, I realized there’s no other way to go but lay it all bare.
I love feelings and emotions and I’m steady in awe of people who dare to feel.
For it is in feeling that the mysteries of our existence meet with the powerful vulnerabilities of our delicate selves.

I am very particular about kindness. Unkind people have no place with me. In whatever I’m doing or feeling, I always try to be kind. Even in anger and pain I try to react with kindness. Because I’ve known cruelty firsthand and nobody deserves that. But in my kindness, my boundaries are also unwavering.

84527ACC-5098-417D-B710-C754E7BBD572.jpeg

When you think Sugar you should think Free spirit. My only aspiration in life is to live. To absorb every moment, to always give my all, to experience all of me, to never hold back, to always see and make room for my other selves.
I don’t take life too seriously nor do I take people’s actions and reactions too personally. I have made peace with the knowledge that no one can give what they don’t have, and people will only show up for you in the capacity that they under similar situation will show up for themselves.

I am personal, and that shows in my relationships. I see my people and try to relate with them on a personal level.
The most fascinating thing about existence to me is human connections. There’s so much power in knowing and experiencing someone else and I’ll always be grateful to my families and tribe for choosing me in the same capacity that I’ve chosen them.

I’m a big believer in predestination. Aside using it as a deflection tactic from assuming responsibility for some of my bad choices, it also brings me comfort, knowing the course of my life is not entirely left in my fucked up hands. Cause half the time I have zero idea what I’m doing, I’m just waltzing through and knocking shit over. Lol. I’m a mess sometimes, but I’m also probably the coolest person you’re yet to meet.

7A39A075-D31F-463C-838E-48FC81B0C4BB.jpeg

I like to live my life on my terms, free from societal expectations and heteronormative stereotypes. I want to be myself at all times and explore the possibilities of being all of me. I am a Gen Z, an Aquarius and a Rebel.

There’s so much more to me, so many lives to be lived, so many times to pass through. I’ll be me in all my power, I’ll love me in all my mistakes, I’ll move without apology and dance without caution. I’ll give me all my love.
My life is mine and I’ll make it personal, I’ll love who I want, I’ll go where I’m loved, I’ll choose my family, my tribe.
I’m committed to making sure every detail of my life is in alignment with my highest good.

I also make room for the people in my life to set things as they want for themselves; I respect their boundaries and honor their individuality.

I want to live and inspire others to live too.
I hope you stick around. Thank you for reading.

4A5D4CDA-D162-4170-9BF6-5739607F1133.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now