Introducing Art with Flo - My story

Flo_logo_watercolour.jpg

I'm so excited about joining the Steemit community, I'm looking forward to sharing my digital art tutorials with you!
I started my adventure on Instagram, sharing my knowledge and motivating my followers to keep practicing drawing and painting. I also make digital art video tutorials on YouTube, showing step by step painting processes and timelapse videos. Here on Steemit I'll be sharing step by step digital art tutorials full of painting tips to help you on your (digital) art journey.

But first, let me introduce myself! I'm Floortje and I've been a passionate artist since I was still very young...
Bruidsfotograaf_Floortje2.jpg

I remember spending a lot of time with a pencil and paper, practicing drawing animals mostly. Back in the days there was no internet to distract me, so there was a lot of time to practice and develop my skills.

KidDrawing.jpg

I remember when I was about 8 or 9 years old, I went to the library and found a book about Corel Draw. I don't know why I took it, I didn't even have the software, but the possibility of drawing on a computer really intrigued me. I read the book from front to end and learned everything there was to know about Corel Draw, it felt like reading about magic.
But... I never got the software. I was sad for a time, but after a while I forgot about it.

corel_draw_05.jpg

Drawing never stopped being my passion though and I spent a lot of time in the classroom doodling while listening to the teachers. I did well at school and ended up at a University in Amsterdam, while drawing remained just a hobby.
Til I found out about Photoshop and the ability to paint with it about ten years ago. I felt the same as I did when I was 9 years old, this was pure magic to me. I bought a Wacom pen tablet as soon as I could and started painting digital. I dedicated a whole lot of my time to practicing and improving my digital art skills. I read a lot of ImagineFX and felt amazed by the work of famous artists I saw on CGsociety and DeviantART.

imaginefxFavorite.jpg

I got my work published in some Dutch Photoshop magazines and even made a digital painting turorial for one of those magazines. The biggest highlight was getting in Ballistic Publishing's Exotique 7 though, it still amazes me :)

exotiquepub.jpg

After that I actually started painting less and less, my life and work kept me busy. Til about little more than half a year ago, when I got motivated to get active on Instagram. My number of followers grew explosively and they kept me motivated to keep painting. In return I try and motivate them to practice and improve their skills, the same way I keep working to improve.
I try to make easy to follow digital art tutorials and motivational videos.
And the support I get from my followers is heartwarming!

I hope I'll be able to do the same thing here on Steemit and ofcourse I'm hoping Steemit will flourish <3
I will be posting my first Steemit digital art tutorial soon!

Finally here is one of my latest digital paintingsmermaid_artwithflo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center