Is Steemit the Future of Journalism? I’m IN! Signed: a Freelance Journalist

Hi Steemit community!

A week ago I interviewed Manuel Lains of BitGate in Norway. He told me about Steemit and I signed up right away. I had heard about micro payments via blockchain, but converting ‘likes’ into cold hard cash? No way!

Not that I think money is the most important thing in the world, but to make high quality, in-depth stories I need a new business model. Steemit might just be what’s needed to sustain me and other freelance journalists in their endeavours.

Untitled design-3.jpg

I write about several topics. First of all, I love technology and regularly write about tech for Norway-Asia Business Review, Ny Tid, Modern Times Review and the Dutch Journalism Fund. Last January I headed to Southeast Asia to also write about social issues and development.

The latter takes much more time and money to investigate (field work, plane ticket, translator, etc.). I’m really exited to see if publishing on Steemit can help alleviate the costs a little bit. Journalism is not where the money is at the moment although this hopefully will change with initiatives like Steemit.

Until now, I mainly finance my field work with marketing. Don’t get me wrong; it’s AWESOME that I can work remotely as a digital nomad. Some people do it to travel and enjoy the beach; I do it to investigate issues that in my opinion deserve more media attention.

I just returned from the Myeik Archipelago in South Myanmar to investigate sustainable tourism. Before that, I spend a month in rural India to research microfinance and farmer distress. I'm finishing up these articles at the moment.

What content can you expect of me in the upcoming weeks?

  • Articles and pictures about social issues in Southeast Asia;
  • Personal experiences from being a journalist and conducting field work;
  • And of course articles about technology! Interviews with startup founders, tech events and new technologies.

Weird fact about me #3:

I’m tall, very tall: 1.84 meters or 6.03 feet. It’s a wonder I’m a journalist: imagine trying to blend in as a blond lamppost.

Weird fact about me #2:

I studied Business Administration and Social and Cultural Anthropology. (‘Antropowhat?’ Check out this funny TEDx talk about the importance of culture.)

Weird fact about me #1:

After studying, I worked at the Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets checking banks, insurance companies and investment brokers. I learned a lot about finance and bureaucracy; I also decided never to work for a boss again.

I am really looking forward to sharing my journey and stories with all of you. Let me know which topics you would like me to investigate in the comments and please follow me!

Love, Anrike

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now