That so called, Chon

In the year 1999, a little child was born in the city of Manila. A child of pure innocence. A child that is not so special to the world, but to her parents. That child is me. I grew up in Calamba, Laguna. I can say I was raised well by my parents.

Why?

Since I was a kid, my parents never spoil me with toys that I want, I was given story books, a big big book of the world map and other stuff that they think my sister and I would need for us to learn. We didn't really have a lot of money for them to actually buy us all the things we want. That was when I learned to be creative. I created my own toys using the junks I could find in our house. My sister would even call me "Basurera", but that didn't stop me from enjoying my life as a kid. I had my creativity from this experience.

During my grade school days, I was a victim of bullying. I never had true friends, because I know they're talking about me behind my back. At a very young age, I thought of isolating myself from the world, but no. My mom told me that I had to prove myself from those bullies. I had to prove that I am better than those who laugh at me. I became an honor student. There came a point in the school year where they begged for me to help them academically. That was when I learned confidence.

My sister and I are 6 years apart in age. She had 6 years of being an only child. Our parents would enroll her in dance lessons, piano lessons, swimming lessons, guitar lessons and voice lessons, but they had no more money and time when it came to me. Whenever I see kids like me perform their talents, I get so inspired. So I explored my own talents. I asked my mom if I could take that free voice lesson trial, and I would sing at our house, and at parties I would sing at videoke/karaoke machines, until I was able to join singing contests. As I age, I was able to learn more about singing, and I learned to explore different genres of music, and I even change my voice depending on the songs I sing. I also developed a talent in dancing, learned to play guitar and basic piano (although I admit I am a mediocre in terms of these three). That's how I earned my talents.

I have developed myself in the whole 19 years of my life, because of the things I lack. Even though I don't have a professional teacher to help me develop my traits, as my parents push me hard to do the things I would tell them I want to do, I would actually have the courage to do it. I may fail sometimes, but my parents would pick me up and tell me, "at least alam mo na gagawin mo sa susunod," and my sister will guide me by sharing what she learned, and cheering for me when it gets hard.

I may not be able to tell the story of how I got all my other characteristics, but to summarize it all, I just took a leap of faith. I believed I could do anything with the help of God and my family. I am proud to be that child. That so called, Chon.

25734053_513956282324312_6186502316834239261_o.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now