Hello!

I stepped into the world of Hive fairly recently. And, at times, have found myself feeling so acutely lost at the sheer size and scale of the platform. It seems everywhere I look there're tunnels of activity leading to arrays of intriguing discussions and shared experiences, from new discoveries in quantum mechanics to hikes in the Upper Mustang.

Pier Place, Edinburgh

There are moments when the expansiveness of Hive makes me feel completely overwhelmed and insignificant - a little frail voice in a motley of other sounds and explosions, which only multiplies tenfold when I look up from the computer screen to view the world out my window. Individuals with such a range of exciting and brilliant lives thrive here. What can I possibly add to the fray?

And then, in my last post, @steevc suggested that I introduce myself. In that seemingly small act, the vastness of Hive condensed into a simple, welcoming exchange, which highlighted - at least for me - that everyone has a place here.

As requested, I'm crafting this brief introduction and gently placing it in the ether for the sole aim of fostering new relationships through shared contributions to this space. I'm thinking, if I can continue to add somewhat to current discourse, perhaps more interactions like these can take place? By offering a platform for self-discovery, Hive is the perfect place for cultivating networks of inspiring individuals, creating opportunities for equal learning. I see how engaged and stimulated my partner is through active engagement on this site, and the thought of deriving similar fulfilment from participating in this realm is truly enticing.

Teuven, Belgium

So... I'll begin by introducing myself by stating that I have no idea who I am. Haha!!

Don't get me wrong, I am fully aware of my identity as a woman named Alex. As a Paintings Conservator, I have travelled quite extensively from one place to another, now having settled in Edinburgh for the time-being. I know that Scotland is the land where my parents both originate, so there's a little link to my heritage here. But I miss the Netherlands, where I spent most of my time post-Covid working on some incredible treatments. Yet, I have no idea who I am.

Sure, I know I like to paint, read and write; that I enjoy pondering the big questions; being outdoors when the weather permits and cosying up on the couch when it does not; writing cards at Christmas-time even if it's outdated and overpriced and unsustainable because it's nice; cycling fast, hiking slow; and testing out my dismal engineering skills with my far-too-patient beau. I'm old-fashioned but, as a female, am grateful to be in the present even if it's far from perfect. I value goodness, kindness and gratitude above everything and get hurt far too easily by people who don't. I understand that these musings barely scratch the surface of a complex person who spends too much time over-thinking and restructuring introductions on Hive because she can't quite summarise what she is in simple terms. Because she doesn't know who she really is in sum.

Building a hob with my partner, Limburg

Treating a panel painting, Edinburgh

I wonder if anyone else here feels the same way? Do you feel that perhaps the act of discovering oneself never ever really comes to fruition, and that being asked to clarify who you are in the present is nigh impossible? Are you - like me - just as malleable, just as fluid, and just as unsure about yourself and your purpose right here, right now? In a constant state of flux. It would be far easier to introduce Alex in the past.

Anyway, thanks for reading! I need to work on my elevator pitch.

Isle of Skye, Inner Hebrides

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
50 Comments
Ecency