My Late Introduction

So, I didn't know about the #introduce-yourself thing until I got a reply from @lovesniper @anggreklestari on a post of mine recently, explaining how it works (thanks for that).

Magnauseum is the name I chose to use here but I don't think it really means anything deep or meaningful. I'm in the UK and I don't really share much that's personal online but you'll get to know me a little more as I go along I expect. I'm into games old and new, and I'm becoming addicted to @Splinterlands. Not that I really know what I'm doing with that but it's fun to play and I seem to win occasionally lol.

Other games I play when I get time are GTA V and Fortnite, and I used to be on CS-GO and Second Life quite a bit, but not so much these days. Remembering those now has just made me want to log back in though. πŸ˜‚

I arrived here from a link on an alternative social media, which I think might have been Flote or Minds, or possibly Mastodon, so I wasn't actually referred by anyone I know IRL or even just online. Simply, a mention of HIVE with a link just popped up in my feed and I got curious about what it was.

14760_best_quotes_hello_world_decals_48236.1540941224.jpg

I'm still looking around and that, but so far I'm enjoying looking at the communities and amazed at the variety of what I get to read about and see in the fantastic pictures from around the world.

That's a big difference I've identified so far between HIVE/Ecency etc and say Farcebook (which I ditched a years ago). Something that stands out for me already is that FB seems to actively try to put stuff in front of you based on what it thinks you want to see, but HIVE seems much freer, letting you find your own way to the content you want which allows you to be exposed to things you might not have actively sought out but is no less fascinating. FB-style algorithms (if that's what it is) just create a boring echo chamber of sameness, and it just feels like censorship. I want to still be able to be surprised and excited by something, to learn about and to see the world from many different perspectives. I'm finding that here on Ecency.

I'm interested in learning more about crypto, NFT's and any other new tech that comes along, too. I haven't quite got my head around it yet, but I also quite like the idea of tokens, they seem very cool things to collect. You know, like PIZZA and BEER etc, and I really like the name Proof Of Brain (POB). 😊

So far I'm finding Ecency nice to use and I'm discovering cool new (to me) things - and people - every day.

Not sure what you can expect from me in terms of content at the moment, but when I settle on something, I promise you will all be the first to know!

Thanks for reading, and have a wonderful day, wherever you are and whatever you’re doing. πŸ™

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now