Another bug edition: Hello handsome!

This good-looking, well camouflaged character has been having a good time snacking on my succulents, no wonder it's gotten so big

stone grasshopper.jpg

Called Stone Grasshoppers, Lobosceliana loboscelis are known for hanging around among dried leaves and this is either a female, which are wingless, or a male nymph, but because it's so big, I think it's probably a female.

stone grasshopper2.jpg

The cats were pestering it and females are known to kick out violently with their hind legs, and hiss by inflating and deflating their abdomens which is exactly what this one was doing so I suppose I had better take this one somewhere else unless I want lots of little grasshoppers munching on my succulents! I also don't know why this one is so far South, they are not supposed to be found in Johannesburg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now