I Just Want To Shout Out This Inkscape Developer For Reaching Out To Me

![inkscapespalha.png](

For those who may not know, Inkscape is a free & open-source vector-graphics design program that is an excellent alternative to Adobe Illustrator. I've been using Inkscape ever since I moved to Linux as my primary OS. I designed the DS-Tech Media logo with it, and I use it to design my OBS-Studio scenes and layouts, most of the graphics in my videos, and every video thumbnail.

I replied to a tweet by Linux GameCast who mentioned that in their latest episode of Linux Weekly Daily Webcast that Inkscape would be getting a user-interface overhaul. In my reply I mentioned that the first major overhaul from version 1.0 had made Inkscape unusable for me, and Martin Owens(@realdoctormo on Twitter) reached out, and asked me to test the 1.2-alpha release and let him know if it fixed my issues.

And Sure Enough, IT DID!

Basically I use Inkscape for 85% of any visual work I do, and I've been stuck using 0.92 because of the weird issues with the interface on 1.0.
Having a developer from one of the main tools you use reach out to you on Twitter is an awesome experience, and just another benefit of open-source software.
I'll wait until there's an official release before I move to 1.2, but it's a relief to know that I won't have to stick with 0.92 forever since there's so many awesome new features.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center