"Why can't we just get on an airplane and eat airplane food?"

This is what my Little Pumpkin (kiddo #3) asked me last night as she cried herself to sleep. I always try to be sensitive in my responses to Little Pumpkin because she has a very tender heart, but I could not help but chuckle out loud.

Her statement was funny, but the issue behind the statement made my heart hurt.

She misses Indonesia! She misses her home!

We all miss Indonesia. It became a second home for my wife and I. But for our girls, it was the only home that they really knew. Moving back to the United States is the foreign land for my princesses. Granted they look like everyone else, but in their hearts and minds, they are not like the rest of us.

Flying on airplanes is a fond memory for my girls. They enjoyed about 2-3 trips each year, including trips out of Indonesian to fulfill VISA requirements, trips to visit the doctor/dentist, and trips for meetings that the entire family attended.

We did our best to make flying an exciting event in order to mitigate fear or anxiety of flying. Apparently, we succeeded!

I love that my daughter misses her home because our life in Indonesia was meaningful. And as I sang her to sleep last night, there was a part of me that wanted to jump on an airplane and eat some airplane food, because I miss home too!

@SumatraNate


Image Source:
https://pixabay.com/en/aircraft-manchester-jet-fly-994943/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center