Literate people

It is so great that, gradually, we have connected with the outer world so fast through social media. The fact that how fast can we now share our thoughts with anyone in the world needs no explanation.

I come from a very small village in the hills of India, where, you know, the community living is the very core of the social systems.. I moved to the capital of India, Delhi when I was 14. And it was totally a new experience. I came from where there was no electricity, no phones, no television, no car, and of course no social media.
WhatsApp Image 2023-07-26 at 21.12.10.jpeg My village photo

Now, this brings me to the point of discourse - the Literates. People are using social media to share their thoughts, react to the disturbing news, violence, rape, assaults, snatching and several other human course of actions. Among all this, when it come to an individual like me, I think I am someone who likes to read these reactions and comments coming in from various communities and it has helped me understand and get a larger perspective about 'it'. I wonder when people express their thoughts about how an individual could engage in an inhuman behaviour - questioning the Illiteracy quotients of people being the reason behind such actions.
In my village, folks from my father's generation - most of them never went to school, or have dropped out of schooling during their primary education. I wonder how crime is connected to the people who never had formal education! From my childhood, till now, I have never heard in my village if anyone - even a single person - has been a party to such inhuman, antisocial, criminal offences. For worst, I have seen them getting into brawls and fights while they need water in their land to grow something or for the reasons of their cattles grazing over someone's harvests. I wonder, how these so called 'littrate people' put their blame on those who have never been to school. I wonder, how crime can so conveniently be connected to someone's capacity to read or write - after all who is a literate?

I am glad illiterates can not read.. I wonder how sad a person could feel reading his son's or daughter's comments and reactions over some post about people who never went school or could not read and write. I wonder what literacy is. I leave it for you to ponder - what is education? Is there a difference between an educated and Literate person? Who is uneducated and who is illiterate?
Think!

Thank you for reading!
WhatsApp Image 2023-07-26 at 21.11.49.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center