ImaginaryCreatures Sketch Off Contest entry, my spirit animal & bodypainting

kitsune-making.jpg

@zeroooc is throwing this awesome sketch-off contest Which combines two of my favourite topics together- Imaginary creatures & year of the dog. I mean- imaginary dog! :D <3
Now I'm usually not much of a "drawing on paper person", but the man himself asked me and I could not refuse ;D

Before we go to my finished sketch, here's a little prologue :D
I am a dog, that is pretty obvious to everyone who knows me, and I guess also to those who follow me here by now. The native american beleive is that if you have a dog as a spirit animal, you should connect to your dog's origin. In my case, it's the fennec fox, the tiny little desert creature with the big ears (just like me! :D ).
And I love painting fennec foxes, but I mainly paint them on the human body, like this one for instance:

60251_432906613810_2664802_n.jpg

bodypainting: Shlomit Schatzmayr, photo: Robert Lunak, 2010

I got to paint my first imaginary fennec back in 2012, when I was invited to Maribor, together with some of Europe's finest bodypainters, to participate in the Slovenian body painting festival. The theme of the day was fantasy and I was thinking what kind of a character would I be in a fantasy story. One of the things I gave my character was riding on a giant fennec through the desert :D

maribor1.jpg

maribor2.jpg

So yeah, it was pretty obvious to me that my imaginary dog would be fennec inspired :D I combined also elements from my own 2 doggies and decided that for the year of the dog, I will take it to a more asian direction and make him more of a "Kitsune".
So here it is, My kitsune sketch for @zeroooc _

kitsune.jpg

All the best of luck to all of the contestants! I can't wait to see everybody's amazing works :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center