McGrill: takeway cup illustration commission

jxc6zlb1f6.png

I would like to apologize in advance for the pain of your thumb while reading this post because you will have to scroll down a lot.

This summer I've got an order to create an illustration for a cup. I've finished this job in about 2 weeks in total but only now I've received the payment and able to show it in my portfolio and blog about it.

Sketches

I've blogged about few of these sketches before but here is the full stack in historical order. This is a series of road cafes across the Russia where drivers and travelers could catch a meal and take away some hot drinks for the road. That's why first I was thinking that drawing a car with people traveling across the Russia will be banal idea. I've tried metaphor with bears flying on the baloons. Russia, you know?

If you are in US you probably still thinking that we have bears walking on the streets here and we are all wearing lapti and playing on balalaika eating borsch only. At least I've heard that many times from people who never been in Russia :)

ov1udezxhs.png

wqq5s2l8tq.png

This bear was my favorite but client said they don't really get an idea here so it was rejected. Later I was painted it anyway just for my pleasure.

64usjd6lls.png

Okay, moving on... We've discussed a bit more and they asked me to draw the thing I was afraid of. That banal idea: road, traveling family, their cafes...

okiy3wzu9o.png

Iteration above which I like a lot was rejected as well. So I had to try again. Not a problem, my work is to make my client happy...

1ji2qqoj9e.png

I've started to try sketching another special idea where the driver was so hungry that he ate his steering wheel but stopped because felt my client will not understand it anyway.

vs2ju1kjv1.png

So here was the thing they've chosen as a starting point to develop asking for background details and to change father style.

0kcuqu2mq9.png

I've added details. Left side supposed to become Saint Petersburg and right side - mountains where they were planning to drive.

hh3gvtcsxr.png

Then the father was changed again.

qwjq1e8p6a.png

And again.

ys017z4ngb.png

And again. And finally they've asked me to start coloring the whole scene. I've saved one WIP shot for you here.

awnxnpp94u.png

Final

This was the final approved version. Almost without any comments.

p4c99p5wp4.png

q0q6v4pc5c.png

Was really glad to get this order. Never seen that cups alive but hope to get one in a chance and will show you here as well.

Merry Christmas & Happy New 2019 Year, guys!

eSteem Line

Posted via eSteem Surfer 2
eSteem product lead & illustrator Fil Dunsky
portfolio at dunsky.ru

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center