Idealism... and What Are People THINKING??? Is Cheating and Stealing Inherently Human?

I'll be the first to admit that I have always been what most people consider an "idealist." 

What I mean by that is that I largely believe in a "good" world and that most people come about what they have and what they want through honest avenues.

Of course, the reality of life has taught that the world is actually full of scammers, manipulators, cheaters and snake-oil salesmen who'd rather just steal or cheat to get what they want.

I experience it almost daily at our small art gallery/gift shop where I have to be almost hypervigilant in watching people, in order to minimize shoplifting. 

What Are They THINKING?

Sunset
Western sunset

Even after many years on this planet, I still don't understand the mindset that goes with what I might call "ill-gotten" things.

To use old parables, I do understand the notion of the broke single mother who steals a loaf or bread and a can of beans to feed her kids. It's not that I am without compassion for authentic hardship.

What I do not understand is a gaggle of well-dressed upper middle class high school girls going around town for "an afternoon of shoplifting." The question that comes to my mind is mostly "Do you really HATE your life that much?"

Similarly, I don't understand the mentality and "culture" behind ripping off working systems... whether it's stealing from your place of work, or even "exploiting" a place like Steemit which has a working model of "rewards for something," but immediately flocks of people run in and try to apply a "rewards for NOTHING" approach.

I see and recognize that it happens, but I fail to "get" the underlying mindset that drives it.

Gazebo
Snowy Gazebo...

I particularly don't get the occasional feedback I have gotten over the years that in some cultures/situations it's actually "cooler" to steal or cheat your way to something than to actually earn it, legitimately.

As I said, I admit I am an idealist.

And I struggle to understand "malice," except in the context of someone who's psychologically off the rails and unstable. A truly "criminal" mind. 

But most cheaters, manipulators and petty exploiters are far from criminals... they are the person next door you occasionally have a BBQ with. And if you question them about their behavior, they often fell perfectly justified in the guise of something like "because nobody is stopping me" and declaring that they are merely "asserting their rights.

Excess Emphasis on "Getting Ahead?"

It makes we wonder if one of the "roots" we have to look at here is our extreme cultural emphasis on "winning" and "getting ahead." 

I remember being a young man in college taking both psychology and philosophy courses, in addition to being a business student. 

Leaves
Fall leaves in the sun

One of my takeaways-- which I have always found a little disturbing-- is the extraordinary emphasis on "winning" and "leadership.

"Doing Well" is almost an unacceptable status in our culture; a sign that you weren't trying hard enough. You must always try to WIN. In a sense, it was almost wrong to take pride in a job "well done," if the outcome was also that you were the BEST

The other thing I found mildly disturbing-- even back in my early 20's when I was more callous and competitive-- was that this eternal emphasis on winning, leadership and getting ahead seemed to be creating a sort of "cutthroat mentality" in which excellence was (as often as not) wasn't just doing your best, but also sabotaging and pushing your competition out of the way.

Again, I'm an idealist... but I have just always found that sort of thing dishonorable. And maybe that's just very old-fashioned.

I watch people try to cheat the system here on Steemit and it doesn't so much make me feel angry as it makes me feel sad: The behavior just strikes me as dishonorable and that of a "bottom feeder" and "low life.

Exploitation sucks. But that's just MY opinion!

How about YOU? What do you think? Is cheating and manipulating just "part of being human?" Is it what people need to do to get ahead? DO we place too much emphasis on "leadership," and does that cause people to become ruthless, in the pursuit of their goals? Would you consider yourself an idealist? Or more of a realist? If you had the opportunity to "cheat" and something and knew you would not get caught, would you do so? Why? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180303 01:12 PST

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center