IRMA -after math

First of all let me just tell you , I am super thankful to be alive and well after hurricane Irma pounded through Florida.

I sigh a big breath of relief and I do not wish upon anybody to go through such experience(s). It has been a (very) traumatizing experience. I stayed home and did all the preparations that I could have done. I didn't board my house because I couldn't but I had sang bags, I taped windows. I live very close to a natural reserve and I am surrounded by woods.
I was hoping that the woods would protect my home and then we also have a wall that was build along the highway- for noise blocking and I think that helped too.

At about 9 o'clock on Sunday night we started feeling some powerful winds, rain and all of that.
My and my roommate went to bed but then I realized we can't sleep/ shouldn't because we were also in tornado watches and tornado warnings. So, we dressed up and took our emergency bags to my bathroom. We had emergency backpacks ready in case we needed to leave or call for rescue. I know- sounds dramatic, but it was actually more of a precaution.
So anyway, the winds and the rain started intensifying . We went into the bathroom. My roommate cuddled up in the shower and I laid down on the floor in my vanity area with my hand through my pets crate. She was fine and enjoyed me petting her.
Later , it got worse so I moved into the bathroom with my pet Daisy. She was a little unsettled but she calmed down. The noises from the winds and the rain hitting my windows were so spooky. Sometimes , waves of fear would ravage my body and shake me to my core. We lost power at about 11 PM on Sunday night and it is Tuesday now and I don't have it back on
I did not once opened my freezer, so I am hoping the food in there is still good. We will asses that later.
All I could think was: oh my- I wonder what kind of damage that noise did. As long as I was conscious, I would say positive affirmations to be spared of damage and out of the harms way.
The thing is that the hurricane changed course last minute and the eye went straight through Central Florida- which is where I live. Yeah, not news you want to hear and my roommate was sort of panicking and she was giving me anxiety and all that.

So anyway- we slept in the bathroom. At about 2:30 AM- 3:00 AM- the rain stopped and the winds calmed down a little. I was able to fall asleep and I woke up around 6 AM with back pains and sore from sleeping on the floor. I had my yoga mat and blanket but that didn't help much.

At 6 AM I switched and went to bed but I didn't sleep much- probably only until 7 AM as light was entering my room.
We went outside to asses damage and everything was ok. I will describe the pictures and what I found once it all passed. I couldn't get any internet to see what damages the city sustained. I couldn't get any updates. Cell service was intermittent. My internet/ tv cables were all under water by the woods. My cell phone provider texted me before the storm and they said no one will be charged for overages from 8/9/17 to 9/17/17. I thought that was so nice of them. Well, I was not trying to use my internet -because I knew it was all gone but I couldn't even use my network to get any updates. My Facebook feed was showing all the same crap, it was not refreshing- which it just made me waste precious battery. I was cut off from any news. I did listen to the radio in my car a little but it really pissed me off when they started playing music. I was not up for that. I needed to hear coverage and info in regards to the storm, the aftermath etc. Anyway!

So, in this picture below, it shows how much water came up from the woods. It is now receding .

This picture shows the canal by the club house and I am sure you can tell that the water is way higher than normal.

This picture is of my neighbors house. He is ATTACHED to MY HOUSE. When I saw that, I sort of started freaking out. Because I can't see any of the missing wood panels. Where did they go? Are they inside the attic?
His insurance company was contacted and I hope there is no further damage . We share a fire wall. I did a perimeter check and it looks like there is no leaks inside the house and I also visually checked the roof and I didn't see any missing shingles.

This last picture is of a fallen tree. I can't believe how the wind just got it all out like that and it has fallen on the lawn. I am happy to see it did not land on their home or on their car. CRAZY. There have been some roofs damaged in my neighborhood, but I think for the most everybody was spared.

Because I consider this experience traumatizing, I am seriously considering moving out of Florida. I have a plan and I want to consult with some people and I might get out. This is just an idea for now. Where I want to go, it's still not safe from hurricanes, but its not a usual spot for them to hit. I don't know what I will do. I do know that I am glad it's over and that I didn't sustain any damages except my emotions and anxiety were so intense during this storm.

Thank you and Namaste

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center