PowerUp πŸ’ͺ 2024 - Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

(this is the #23 giveaway enabled post - check the giveaway details below)


This πŸ’“ post has a πŸ’Ž GIVEAWAY


Click πŸ‘‰HEREπŸ‘ˆ to read about how to participate in this post, if you are not yet familiar with its rules...


PowerUp Day πŸ’ͺ Delegation Giveaway


🚨🧨πŸ’₯ Engagement is Required ❗❗


πŸŽ„ Crypto Christmas and Bullish New Year ✨

This year went specially fast for me. I was BUSY as hell! IRLW changes made it completely a new challenge for me. But also, on the crypto world, specifically on the HIVE part, I felt quite behind where I was aiming to be. And that, mostly because the life changes, yes.

Still, that didn't stop me. I kept going... And knowing what I could do, that was never a worry to me. Just a little side-step, a delay or like I like to say, a different learning curve. But, as usual, I will get there!

Anyhow, Christmas was nice and we had some "simple" food. Apart from all the deserts and other dishes/appetizers. Here is "Bacalhau" (codfish) from Portugal with potatoes and a boiled egg, seasoned with olive oil, vinegar and chopped garlic.

Now, its all about enjoying the presents and some quality family time.

🎁 What presents I got?

Santa was also nice to me, and said that I could start experimenting with the bigger DIMM (48GB) modules, currently still very emerging on the market. These are getting better support by the day, on almost every DDR5 platform, finally raising the old 128GB RAM limit, to 192GB.

A note, to everyone experimenting with them, to really check for firmwares if there are any motherboards claiming they have made changes in that regard.

The challenge in this space is to get platforms stable at these quantities (high capacity DIMMs with 4 modules per board), while still being able to use very high frequency. I am still playing with my 2x kit (for now), and figuring it out if its worth the pain of running higher frequency than the default CPU controllers can do. Then, I might get 2x more DIMMs once they get less expensive.

Or, build another mobo, whatever makes more sense, for example, if I end up requiring more CPU instead. The strategy here was to spend money wisely, so that I can adapt to the difficulties without throwing too much $$ off the window.

And this one is also a record for me... ~28 Watts idle power consumption under ubuntu 22.04 LTS, including two fans (one 140mm for the CPU and one 120mm for the future NVMes), a (?? 😎) CPU, and one NVMe for now (soon more, up to 5 will be in this kit).

Once I finish my tests and put this into its box, its going to join the extra NVMes, 12x HDDs, one extra SATA card and other 5x chassis fans. So, this might raise the idle to maybe 80-100 Watts (estimated).

Not that its supper important the idle, but it helps me understand thermals at home. Obviously the higher consumption envelope will matter. Especially in summer! But it should be fine... with this many fans. πŸ˜‰

Later on, next year, I will do a longer post about this rig, with more details about the node and many of my findings. For now, this will do... 😎 - Lots of work ahead still!

πŸ˜… The promise that is 2 years late!

In the 2021/22 year, I have made a promise to myself, regarding helping this community with a real node that would make at least in some sense be useful to the community and its users. It didn't have to be able to take the entire network on itself (otherwise I would be centralizing us), but at least a part of it. How much, that was a bit of a ?? to me, and now that I see how big the development is becoming, I am pretty sure what I am deploying is just a tiny bit.

Although, that's not the point. The under the hood objectives for me, is to have access to local nodes (HIVE, HAF and Hive-Engine) for that extra crazy experience 😍, that also allows me to have complete independence in terms of testing for all stuff I test, play, support, etc, and at the same time provide some extra decentralization.

Two years later, and here I am, now testing what I can call, "I will make it happen"! - most likely 1st quarter of 2024. Yeah, not ideal as a plan... as I thought I could make it last year. But IRL stuff made it a bit harder and I had to adapt.

If you notice, you can already see some hints about this, under @forkyishere blah blah blah posts/threads lately. This Giveaway one will end before the end of the year!

😍 Best 2024 wishes to everyone!

First, make sure you are going the path that makes you happy, but also make sure that does not compromise your health! This will likely be my last post of the year. So, see you on the other side, once this one curation ends.

Leave you with a funny moment of the dog in the picture (not my dog) defying @defibenji (my real dog) with its side look and "relax" moment! πŸ˜†


My πŸ–οΈ motivation!

Have fun, play games, learn, and when possible, teach new things to newcomers, showing them how interesting this place can be.

🀝 Follow me on Twitter

@forkyishere 😈 (@forykw dark side) is a character I created, which emerged from Crimsonclad imagination πŸ™ while dwelling over the dark dungeons of Discord chat levels.

Follow for #news about the #HIVE #Blockchain, and other stuff. I sometimes get crazy with what happens around social media. I am following all HIVE users! No promises of behavior. 😁

In addition, if you are looking for a nice place to either reach out, share or just have a great time, come along to @atexoras.pub gatherings. We welcome everyone on the blockchain.

πŸ‘‰ Vote for Witnesses

(⚑Vote) - Hive-Engine here - voting uses staked WORKERBEE
(⚑Vote) - HIVE here - voting uses staked HIVE

(✍Delegate) - 3Speak Network - You win 0.015% SPK tokens if you delegate LARYNX to other nodes, as opposed to only 0.010% from your powered LARYNX!

@forykw is running 😎 @atexoras.witness on all the above πŸ’ͺ

πŸ“° Public Hive Engine Infrastructure

Any feedback/problems, feel free to contact me! My stuff is being monitored via UpTimeRobot where you can find their current status or just come along to the ATX Discord server.

😎 Looking for some #HIVE merch? (ASK ME) - I did try to setup something but I don't have the time for it anymore (for now). 😘


by

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center