Taking Advantage of Comment Sections

What a Scandalizing idea right? Going out from your own blogs to leverage your thoughts and ideas elsewhere. It’s great you should try it some time

coverlight.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

Some of my viewpoints on this matter:

  • Be More than Just Spam
  • First impression
  • Have a Fun and Rewarding Time
  • Tricks of a Comment Aficionado
  • Breaking the Ice or Writers Block
  • Following
  • Difference of View

Be More than Just Spam

Many people when they come here they just want to blog. They think if they keep blogging well it’s going to get noticed at some point. I think one of the most under rated things and opportunity here on are other people’s comment section.

No, no , no. I’m not talking about spamming other people’s comment sections with links to your blog(s), or copy/paste begging for follows or upvotes, or all the other stuff.

I’m talking about actually contributing and having an engaging conversation with others outside of your own bubble of your blog. Much more beyond the “thanks, great, nice picture.” Let’s face it, most replies like that sound very disingenuous. It’s like they are talking on twitter and have to watch out for that character limit.

First impression

tryyourbest.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

Consider a comment your opportunity to make a great first impression on that blog.

nicepost.png

What is the purpose of a comment like this? Great, you like the post, and I guess you like the 5000 posts that people tend to leave a comment on that like. Can the blog’s author or another commenter do anything with this comment in a positive way? I guess they could leave a “thanks” or ask “what did you like so much about this blog” or people tend to flag it as spam. Best that could happen here is someone follows that based on that comment because they follow everyone. Those kinds of people have a very spammy feed and are not going see that person’s blog. There is also no reason based on that comment for someone to go out of their way to check in on that person from time to time if they have a very busy feed.

lookingforward.png

Now this comment is short and to the point. It also did not take very long to write. It replies back to the blog in a manner that leaves further room for engagement. This person is looking to join in something that the blog is talking about! They are busy doing “something” (perhaps finishing this blog) but they will also make themselves available for what is going on later that night.


Now you see it was all just one comment all along. Yes, I do have fun poking at what I consider spam. It’s a pass time along with leaving 900-word comments sometimes on other people’s blogs. I know I scare people. I’m trying to curb my addiction to leave long comments.

The point here is I have created an opportunity. But you might be asking “an opportunity for what?” Well to gain followers, get upvotes, and be noticed. Now, do I expect this comment to get me much attention and follows? Not really, but when anyone else scrolls down to the bottom of that blog to finish reading it there is my comment and I’m having a fun time.

Have Fun and a Rewarding Time

activeblog.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

If you happen to find a blog where you can contribute your own personal knowledge, experiences, and thoughts consider going for it. How else are you going meet new people who did not see your blog(s) if you don’t go out there into the wild!

longpost.png

Now, most would consider this to be a way too long and a blog should be made out of it. You are right I could have made a blog out of it. I also had very few people following me and even less coming by weekly to see what I been up to.

I left 17 comments in total on a blog. Very few people replied back but that is expected. I added to the conversation in a positive way and I was also noticed for doing so and even rewarded. Just making that a blog and leaving it at that would have robbed me of the enjoyment of meeting and interacting with others.

There is a very large social element here because quite a few people network and create a community to get noticed. If you are off in your own little universe things are just harder alone.

Tricks of a Comment Aficionado

justonemore.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

Most of the time when people leave comments they spend zero time doing any formatting, organization or using images. I’m guilty of doing that a lot as well. Taking the extra step on a comment makes it stand out more among the others consider using:

  • Bullet points
  • Bolding
  • Image
  • Take a second or two to proof read before posting comment
  • Format link
  • Using mention
  • Comment on other people’s comments

I also like to make sure I’m around for a few hours here or there after posting a blog. This just allows me to see what I missed for the day and reply back to anything I need to as well. People often are very busy and do not think to check up on your blogs even if you are good friends with them. I sometimes go on commenting sprees after writing a blog while I wait for any interaction with my own.

Take advantage of WIN-WIN-WIN scenario. You found a really great blog that you spent some time in leaving a comment. You got some upvotes and now your comment is top or near the top. It’s a perfect time to resteem it! People you’re following might see it and read a great blog. It lets people see what you been up to even if you have not blogged in a few days.

I often look for the comment of the person who resteem a blog and it's disappointing when they did not leave a comment. It gives me zero insight into them why they choose to resteem. I even point out sometimes who resteem it so the author of the blog knows who to thank for leaving the door open for me to just walk right in.

Breaking the Ice or Writers Block

haveahammer.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

If you are struggling with writer's block or you’re not as confident as you would like to be about writing a blog. Start small start commenting.

You can start off with topics you know a lot about. Then work your way into things you’re not so sure and find yourself leaving more questions than answers. Along the way, you might just find something you want to expand upon yourself into a blog.

Following

commenthere.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

I always consider the people I’m following as a great way to find things I want to comment on. I have spent time into curtailing my feed. I get a wide range of different topics and sometimes overlapping ones with differences of opinion.

They also resteem stuff that I enjoy reading. Even more so commenting on.

It’s why I treat Steemit more like a social friend network than anything else. Did I get massive follow backs in my first month here on Steemit? No, I’m building something here. I centrally don’t want do that on spam as that stuff can catch on fire fast.

spam.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

SEE IT BURNS!!!!

Difference of View

answer you must.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

How do you view Steemit?
A. Steemit is a blogging social site
B. Steemit is a social blogging site

Is there a difference between the two options in your mind? Are they one in the same or is there something more to it?

Information and Citation

Everything written is my own expressed opinion on how to take advantage of commenting to be a better community member.

Unless otherwise cited all screenshots have been taken by @enjar from Steemit

Another blog written by me: My Small War on Spam

()

Pexels edit with Lunapic

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center