HORSE RACING: things need to change for the Horses

HELLO STEEMIT USERS WORLDWIDE
Hope you are all having a fabulous day wether it’s morning afternoon or nighttime.

Today I would like to talk about a somewhat personal topic as this post will contain a lot of my own opinion along with some statistics to back up my opinions.

9FB0F1B0-B5C7-4305-AFB8-E35399298E39.jpeg

DISCLAIMER this is all just my opinions on what I think of horse racing and I’m a big animal lover so this is personal to me also.

BEFORE WE BEGIN, after you have read this post feel free to leave feedback, own opinions or any questions you might have below all feedback is welcome XD

LETS BEGIN

WHY MAKE THIS POST TODAY ?

So today Saturday the 6th of April 2019 here in the United Kingdom we have a horse race know as THE GRAND NATIONAL this event takes place yearly it’s a horse race that takes place at AINTREE it features 40 horses and they must run around a course jumping 30 fences.

WHATS WRONG WITH THIS RACE

This race has a high horse death rate as this particular race features horrible tall fences which sadly most of the time if a horse makes a mistake unfortunately breaks its leg and gets put down ending its life.

Unfortunately today a horse named ”UP FOR REVIEW”. was pulled down on the very first fence and was instantly in pain due to breaking its leg and shortly after was put down.

Personally I’m a huge animal lover my favourite animals are Dogs, horses and a couple wild animals so to see this happen is for me very sad and I always feel sorry for the horses that take part in that particular race.

WHAT SHOULD BE DONE

I don’t think banning horse racing is the answer after all it is a sport which is all about Betting with money. However I feel that the grand national And other races with stupidity high fences should be banned due to the high death rate of horses.

here are some statistics I’d like to share with you.

Since the year 2000, there have been eleven Grand National deaths that is all on that once race.

six deaths per 439 horses between 2000 and 2010 again just on the grand national

it is extremely rare for a horse to recover from a broken or fractured leg due to a wide range of factors so instead of traumatic recovery they are put down

WHY IS HORSE RACING A VERY POPULAR SPORT AND WHY PEOPLE ARE ALL FOR RACING

It’s pretty simple horse racing evolves around betting its the main reason people watch horse racing and that’s due to betting money i place bets now and again it’s pretty rare for me to but I’m an animal lover so to me I do feel sorry for the horses that take part in race.

WHAT ABOUT HORSES THAT ARE OVERWORKED AND POORLY TREATED OUTSIDE OF THE SPORT

So if you live in or near a farm of even a field you may see a horse most likely the horse or horses are doing nothing maybe just standing around or maybe a farmer has worked the horse without feeding and hydrating the horse. Horse racing has a good reputation for looking after horses yes they can be overworked but after every race they are instantly give buckets of water and sprayed done to help cool them off so the treatment of the horses before and after a race is not so much an issue. However outside the sport that could be different.

WHATS MY PERSONAL OPINION ON THE OVERALL SPORT

Personally horse racing is a sport and some love it and some hate it I’m in the middle however I can happily say that The grand national and even other races with ridiculously high fences need to change you can say yes “but only 1 horse died”. Still that’s 1 horse too many me being an animal lover could take this a little personal so I apologise for that but I hate to see horses breaking its leg and being put down and it’s a shame yes they may be better treated before and after races but when it breaks its leg it’s the end.

I’m not sure if other countries have races similar to the grand national so please let me know

THE GRAND NATIONAL

DISTANCE 4 miles
HORSES IN THE RACE 40
FENCES 30
EVENT once a year
WHERE Aintree racecourse Liverpool
HISTORY Started 26 February 1839

So that’s all I have to share to you all today please do leave you’re feedback below thank you all for reading !!

BAA32863-32A9-42BD-95DF-5E532AF5555E.jpeg

Have a wonderful rest of the day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now