My favourite horror films ranked out of 10!

I know Halloween is already finished and over BUT I thought I would rank different horror films out of 10. I love horror films, I will watch them at any time of year (even in the dark!!)

image.png

  1. Halloween
    A classic. It's been a while since I watched this but I love Jamie Lee Curtis' acting so I've watched most of the franchise. The scare factor of this film is mad and the one scene in a barn had me on the edge of my SEAT. I mostly cared about the cats not being harmed haha. 7/10

  2. Sinister
    One I think any avid horror fan has seen, I love the first and second film. The whole film is eerie following a family that moves into a house with a dark past. The father (played by Ethan Hawk) finds a bunch of tapes, as he is a detective he takes the time to watch them all, trying to decipher what happened to all the missing families. It is such a good watch with terrifying parts. The whole film had me on the edge of my seat. Solid 8/10

  3. Scream
    A classic and one of my absolute favs because of Drew Barrymore. I have always been a huge fan of Drew. I love her acting! It's a classical horror that just makes you shout at the character through the screen. Although I love the film, it is very predictable just like a lot of horror films I find. For that reason I will give it a 6/10. Nonetheless I love Drew's part!

  4. Jigsaw
    I like a good few of the Saw franchise but I find they drag it out. They do this with a lot of various franchises and in the end it gets boring, predictable and repetitive. But nevertheless I love Jigsaw and it starts out gruesome with a woman near death. I love the film but again I feel it becomes very predictable toward the end with the same plot twists repeated. I would give it a solid 6/10. It is a film that will have you wincing in your seat!

  5. Hush
    Now the film itself I found quite boring BUT the concept is very interesting. It is about this deaf girl that is stalked by a masked man and its eerie because she doesn't know but the audience does, and for that I give it a 8/10. It gives off a Scream vibe.

  6. Nightmare on Elm Street
    This one is a CLASSIC. I love this film even if the graphics are sooo outdated haha, it is just a classic, everyone and their mother know this film. I love the concept and I would be lying if I said it didn't terrify me as a kid!! I would 100% give it a 10/10 based on the classic that it is and the original Freddie Kreuger being in it.

  7. IT
    This will always be a fav of mine. When I was about 13 I had such a fixation over this film, I would watch it all the time. My favourite characters were always Eddie and Richie. I have read (most) of the book, about 600 pages worth and even the book is so good I recommend. This film will always be a classic of mine so I would give it a good 9/10.

  8. Hereditary
    This is such a complexed film and so much happens and the most gruesome thing happens to the female lead but honestly such an eerie but great watch! Definitely recommend but if you are into horror like me, you will have probably already watched it! Solid 8/10.

  9. The shining
    Another classic, it has so much suspense, and learning about how it affected Shelley Duvall is so heart breaking. I love this film and love Jack Nicholson's acting, it is so real and raw. Definitely a 9/10.

  10. Chucky
    Last but not least Chucky. That film is one of the twisted films I have ever seen. Again, this is another franchise that they just dragged on an on but the original is the best. It is just such a twisted film and so weird. Definitely a 9/10, this film definitely got me as a kid!

As you can see I am very reluctant to give anything a 10/10 merely because something has to be PERFECT for me to do that. Nightmare on Elm Street is definitely worth a 10/10 for me, usually I seem to be able to find a fault somewhere in films haha! I love horror films, they have such a thrill to them and nowadays it takes a lot to scare me. Tough skin😂
Thank-you for reading this weeks Hive post. I love coming up with all sorts of different things to blog about and trust me it is so fun!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center