The Will to Survive

Everything in nature is vying for survival, and many things do not make it.

IMG_2772.JPG

My apparatus to help shade my new banana pup fell the other day. It landed on the banana. The leaves were damaged beyond repair, but I remembered something about the root system of a banana. It's called the "corm."

I remembered that if the banana had already begun rooting, that I could probably sever all of the leaves off and leave the stalk.

Then what would happen is that the banana, desperately wanting to survive, would push a new leaf through the hole in the top that I had just created.

It worked. Here are some pictures.

IMG_2771.JPG

This is where I lopped the banana's head off

IMG_2773.JPG

View from above

IMG_2772.JPG

Now if I properly shade this thing and don't let the sun bake it's virgin leaf, it should survive. I just need to make sure the apparatus doesn't fall again.

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians! Happy hump day!


Hansen's Gift.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center