Brew Day

IMG_3880.PNG

This morning I posted a tutorial about brewing kombucha. It finally inspired me enough to actually start brewing my own again. We used to brew it all the time but life got busier and it wasn't a priority anymore. We began buying bottles of booch, and considering that you pay almost $10 for three at superstore (on sale) and they now carry one of our favourite flavours, grape GT, the expensive temptation is often too much.

But no more! So today I made sure the Berkey was plenty full and drained off a huge pot of clean filtered water.

IMG_3868.JPG

I grabbed my black tea, which I can only reach with a chair or using my handy silicone tongs! LoL

IMG_3871.JPG

I threw a cup of organic sugar in there and got the water boiled, then tossed the tea bags in at the end and took it off the burner. It's still sitting and cooling on the stove. It takes quite a while to cool that much tea!

IMG_3882.JPG

Tonight I'll pour it into my large jar with a spigot and plop a SCOBY on top :)

Haven't decided what flavours I'll make it into yet though. I had meant to pick a bunch of Sea Buckthorn berries last weekend but never got around to it, I bet that would make a delicious brew!

I'll probably just go with grape juice, I still have some kicking around in the cupboard, plus it's my favourite :)

Do you brew?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center