Building A Greenhouse To Extend Our Homestead Growing Season

We have a raised herb bed behind the house and are putting up a greenhouse over the top of it to extend our growing season. We are eating a lot from the herbs and vegetables growing in the herb bed so we hope to keep some of it going into the colder winter months.

We are living on an 18 acre homestead and striving to become self sufficient and fully off the grid on a budget. We are raising chickens, hunting, fishing and growing our own food. We process and preserve as much as we can for ourselves in order to live healthier and cheaper.

I am sharing our videos since the day we moved to our new homestead to the present to give you the background story. When you are caught up we will continue to share our daily videos and articles as we make them.

I have a bunch of wood that I picked up from the local lumber yard to build our chicken coop. There are a lot of 2x2s left over which are perfect for the framing of the greenhouse.

I got out the framing nailer and got to work. The process is time consuming though using recycled lumber because I have to hand sort though all the pieces in order to find something that works.

The walls are going to be 5 feet high and the roof will peak at 8 feet high. This will give us plenty of room to move around inside.

I managed to get the walls up pretty well though and then when I got to the roof I had to think about it a bit. I am letting the wood lead me as I sort though what I have.

I ended up with a 12 foot long beam supported by three posts. The posts will take the weight from the winter snow and distribute it to the ground. There are treated 4x4s already in place which I had left there. This gives the entire structure support and keeps it off the ground. This will also extend the life of the wood.

When I got to the rafters I was pretty exhausted though and called it a day.

You can see the video here:

And here is the article I wrote about the project:

http://www.thedoityourselfworld.com/articles/article.php?id=11468

Please Subscribe & follow my daily YouTube videos

Read my articles at The Do It Yourself World

Troy
The Do It Yourself World

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now