Hens eating their eggs: Hen Conditioning Recipe stops mine

I’ve always given broken eggs to my birds if there are any (like when I drop one when egg collecting. It’s good recycling and what’s more, it’s bird food ... of course they like it. We’ve also baked,crushed and returned their shells to them.

Over the years we had egg eaters that broke the eggs on purpose to eat them but they always stopped when I gave them the following Chicken Conditioner recipe given to me by the person that gave me my first chooks:

Live yogurt
Crushed garlic
Cayenne pepper
Apple cider vinegar.

Choose your own proportions. I never measure mine, but there’s definitely more yogurt than cayenne and there’s plenty of garlic. 😄

We’ve never had to cull an egg eater. That’s a good thing in itself but a great thing if you’ve got to try to find out which hen is doing the eating! No need so far.
I’ve no idea why it works but it has for the past 7 years.

Doesn’t work on blasted crows!
image

We solved our crow problem by fitting a large run to the front of our pop hole. Crows don’t like to enter a cage then a coop.

Hope someone finds this useful.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now