Mail Time! (Seeds Seeds Seeds!) And a Shed Update

More Seeds In The Mail!!

@jeejee’s Contest

A couple of weeks ago, I entered a contest by @jeejee. The prize, tomato seeds! I collect seeds, all seeds, but tomato seeds are my favorite.
Here are some of them...



B94E24F9-A3FB-4DEB-95E0-3F7B60A5DE6A.jpeg



Well, I WON! And here’s what I found in my mailbox:



DD59D2AB-3AD4-47DF-8FB9-4B5885F05A56.jpeg



I’ve never grown tomatillos, so I’m stoked about that!

Cherokee Nation Seed Bank Shipment

A while back, I wrote a post about the Cherokee Nation Seed Bank. Every year, heirloom seeds passed down through generations of Cherokee are offered to tribal citizens from their seed bank. Each citizen is allowed two varieties. I recieved my shipment and my son’s. Here’s what we chose.





Cutleaf coneflower, sunchoke, jewelry gourd and Trail of Tears bead corn.

For the Cherokee people, knowledge of agriculture wasn’t just a necessary practice, it was a central component of culture. These seeds are the direct descendents of plants grown by Cherokees in our ancestral lands. They are drought and disease resistant and have long storage lives.

The genetics in these rare varieties, that aren’t available commercially, are tied directly to the Cherokee people, their heritage, and tradition.


“No self-respecting Cherokee would ever be without a corn patch.”
~ Old Cherokee Saying


I had planned on growing some Cherokee white eagle corn this year, but I think I’ll be growing the Trail of Tears bead corn instead. I don’t have enough property to keep them from cross pollinating. And it’s very important to me to keep these varieties pure.

Shed Update

So, a few weeks ago I made a post about things we were going to try to get done while my husband was off work for a week. The shed was the main event. Well, we didn’t get it finished. It rained, snowed and froze.

But today, the weather was beautiful, so the work continued.



78A213AC-3646-4E3C-8A14-00CAE8DB9F4E.jpeg



Hopefully there will be some bigger and more frequent project updates coming as the weather continues to cooperate!

Thanks for stopping by! Have a great week!

96372C2E-B968-4878-AE56-28CBC00CADB0.png 65B31DB0-8927-4BA7-BA84-226B02291788.jpeg

5233BCF8-A305-4358-9E66-EE575FB0F036.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center