New Variety of Long Life Squash?

This little Acorn Squash don't look like much, but it was harvested one year and eight months ago. I had another that went bad two months ago, and this one started getting soft couple weeks ago. I wanted to get some pictures of it before it got to far gone. I don't know how long acorn squash are supposed to last, but a shelf life of over a year and a half seems good. This squash was not keep in ideal condition, and lived on top a china cabinet in the kitchen this whole time. If I had stored it properly, it might still be perfect.

IMG_7095.jpg

IMG_7096.jpg

The seeds this grew from did not come out of a white squash. This is either a hybrid, or the parent was. I had the parent, and a few other hybrid squash of unknown variety in my basement. They all went bad due to the conditions in the basement, so i dumped all the seeds in a flower bed, dozens sprouted, but after natural selection and chicken pressure one vine remained. It produced the white squash you see here. The seeds may not even be viable, but I'll plant these seeds soon and see what happens.

homesteading farming seeds life livingsustainably

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center