Children & Chickens Love Gardening

I Am Beyond Blessed

When I suggested that I would be cleaning up the front yard #growfoodnotlawns gardens, my two youngest sons lit right up, "we're gardening today?!", they were so excited. It really brought me life and energy to get this season going, their enthusiasm was absolutely contagious.

IMG_6353.JPG

Stryder was the greenhouse man today, and you can watch his creations in action in the video I'll post at the end. He made a few inventions I've never heard of until today.

IMG_6354.JPG

The children also love playing with all of the stakes for the plants (as swords and spears), gardening tools (to smash and claw), and they were even using liners of these planters I have as shields lol :)

IMG_6347.JPG

The Boys' Puddle Barometer Experiment

IMG_6343.JPG

So it looks like the sunflower stalks they threw in there have broken down quite a bit, the big rainstorm we had pushed some of it out of the puddle. Time to remedy that...

IMG_6348.JPG

(I totally encouraged this.)

IMG_6349.JPG

Chicken Halpers

After we had raked up what was left of last year's garden, the chickens set to work finding bugs and of course attempting to scatter our raked piles everywhere. If there's one thing chickens love it's scratching apart nice big piles that you worked hours making :)

IMG_6360.JPG

We're halping, we're halping!

IMG_6355.JPG

Even if they undo a bit of our work, it's just good to see them so enthusiastic with the new fun things to explore. When we took out all of the dead plants and stalks it opened up a new world to the girls, they had plenty of treats to search for.

IMG_6357.JPG

You can see the lilies are growing now, in the box to the right of Grace. At this point I'm really hoping she leaves those alone with her scratching.

IMG_6356.JPG

John Cena is busy tilling and fertilizing this bed.

IMG_6351.JPG

Mr. Pendock...slackin' (he calls it 'supervising' smh).

My Film De Resistance

"Chicken Tillers & Child Inventors"


(Video 2:12)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center