House progress 6/3/18; stripping the walls in the bedrooms.

I was so exhausted from how hard I worked yesterday that I passed out early. I didn't have the energy last night to make this blog till now. This week we were stripping the walls inside of the house. As well as getting ready to do a roofing job patching a few leaks.

That's right folks, when I'm not making posts ranting about how much I hate Corporate Fascist America and the willfully ignorant pieces of shit that go along with it, I'm busy homesteading building my own life no different then any of you. For I too live a normal life outside of politics and funny cat pics.

It all started in December 2016. I bought a little over 3 bitcoins back when Bitcoin was just under $1000. I was making big plans for my life. I was still houseless living in Eugene Oregon. I was starting to make plans to leave the country when my wife @bridgetmartin got back in touch with me just before Christmas. We had known each other for over 10 years and have a history but never had the chance to date having a relationship 10 years before when we met (long story). So over the years we just kept in touch. Bridget told me that her latest marriage fell through and that she still had feelings for me blah blah, etc. I told her my plans. I had just received my back pay from disability so I had money to move and support myself. After a week or so of talking Bridget talked me into moving back to Arkansas to live with her. We could build a life together finally doing the off grid thing like I had been wanting to do for over a decade now. I was excited to leave the west coast too. I was excited to be leaving Oregon after wasting 5 years of my life there getting no where. For those of you living in Oregon and Washington reading this, please forgive my hostile animosity. I have a shit list several miles long of bad experiences in the 5 years I lived there.

Long story short, after living back in Arkansas for almost a year, our neighbors who lived on the property across from us had a 14X70 foot trailer they were using for storage. This was December of last year, 2017, when Bitcoin soared over $19,000. I started cashing out my 3 Bitcoins. We bought our house from our neighbor for $10,000 with the money I made from Bitcoin. The rest is being used to make our new house livable. You can read all about our progress so far leading up till now here below...

The house I bought with Bitcoin
https://steemit.com/story/@hippie-witha-gun/one-year-living-back-in-arkansas-the-house-i-bought-with-bitcoin

Building our deck.
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@hippie-witha-gun/alright-we-got-our-front-deck-built-check-it-out

Gutting the kitchen.
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@hippie-witha-gun/having-fun-while-gutting-the-kitchen

Now to finally get to this weeks blog LOL. We started by having to tear up the carpet in what is going to be our bedroom.
thumbnail_20180603_103602_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_103612_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_103653_resized.jpg

Amazingly enough, for sitting at our neighbors place for so long, the blue lining under the carpet was in rather good shape. It came right up with the carpet without any problems.
thumbnail_20180603_104432_resized.jpg

Of course it wasn't long before the creepy crawlies came out. I woke up this Brown Recluse who came out from under the carpet as I was prying it up. We killed several of these as the day progressed. We probably should of bug bombed the place before we started gutting it.
thumbnail_20180603_103811_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_104127_resized.jpg

The wood on the floor was in great shape too. Only this one spot had a little bit of mold from water damage and needs to be replaced.
thumbnail_20180603_105146_resized.jpg

Next came stripping the wooden carpet strips that were tacked around the perimeter of the room. I used a hammer and a pry bar to get them up.
thumbnail_20180603_112638_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_113820_resized.jpg

After I was done with the carpet strips, it was time to take out the closet. I started with the dry wall. It came right out.
thumbnail_20180603_105255_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_111024_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_111032_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_111138_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_111441_resized.jpg

Now with the drywall removed, it was time to take the frame out. We had to break the frame into three parts to get it out of the house.
thumbnail_20180603_124206_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_124227_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_144752_resized.jpg

Meanwhile back in the kitchen, Bridget, her Mom, and our hired help had stripped the walls and started removing the insulation that was black and moldy (and disgusting). We plan on re-insulating the walls throughout the entire house with new Pink Panther insulation. Of course I will have another blog for when that time comes :-).
thumbnail_20180603_142901_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_173247_resized.jpg

Before the day was out, Bridget and I made our way to what is going to be the baby's room. Again the insulation was black and moldy. Which is why we decided it is best to replace the insulation in the entire house.
thumbnail_20180603_171926_resized.jpg

Whew! This is how big our trash pile turned out to be after a hard days work. We plan on renting a dumpster because of the mess we made. We have this much garbage from all the wood and drywall we have torn out this far.
thumbnail_20180603_171534_resized.jpg

This weekend coming up we are hoping to be starting on the roof which needs a new roofing job. As well as possibly working on the sections of floor that are rotten from water damage.

In the mean time I'm Theo aka Rainbow Man, Hippie With A Gun, and here is the PROOF!
thumbnail_20180603_171833_resized.jpg
Proof of stripping the bedroom.

Thanks for looking and reading. If you liked my story thus far please give me an up vote.

Stay Un-Tune-Ed

Peace!


Join the TRUTH Party, The Radical Underground Tyrant Haters Party!
Comedy through activism, activism through comedy.
Do no harm but stand your ground.

Welcome to the NEW West!!!
Theo meme.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center