Update - October 13, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Fishing  David cutting fish4 crop Sept. 2020.jpg
The last fishing trip at end of September

As of Monday night they had not decided on surgery and he’d had a full spine MRI to determine if surgery was even possible. The decisions about surgery are to be made on Tuesday, but it’s doubtful it will happen before Wednesday.

All this waiting makes scheduling work done here really hard. He’s still in huge amounts of pain if he moves but they are keeping him pretty drugged up.

Here on the farm, one neighbor took me to the Laundromat to do the week’s laundry (washer will have to be replaced as he won’t be able to fix it), and another came in and helped me finish off the 25# of broccoli I had ordered prior to his going into hospital.

Tuesday my helper friend is here and if it is not pouring rain I hope to catch and remove leg bands from the 18 birds as they are tightening on their legs. We must also move the coop, but that’s easy, just pushing it back.

As it’s to be raining we will be working inside afterwards. The upstairs hearth, a catch-all for everything, must be cleaned off so I can use that stove instead of the one in the cellar. It will be much easier to bring wood into the first floor.

I also hope we can get some shallot soup made, as I’ve finished off the leftovers.

It’s possible the sheetrock finishers will be here this afternoon. If not, for sure tomorrow. I’ve lined up someone to put insulation in the attic. Somehow we need to get the stone to finish the masonry heater, as there’s water in the pipes in the addition. We will need to burn it soon…

I didn’t schedule volunteers for Tuesday as we thought I might be going to Boston. I have to get a schedule/calendar going to keep track of all the comings and goings. Done in pencil as things change in a flash…

I’ve been fortunate with the outpouring of help and support. We might just get this house in shape, if not finished, in time for him to come home….

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center