The Unveiling - December 16, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Snow starts2 crop Dec. 2022.jpg

On Friday morning it started snowing at 7AM, though it was forecast to rain all day.

Snow starts1 crop Dec. 2022.jpg

Sometimes it was thick flakes really coming down and on others small flakes just more than a flurry. My general helper was trapped in the hilltowns which had gotten 4” - 5” by 6:30AM and it was still coming down heavily. She never did get out of her driveway, only because the plowed roads were still very slippery.

New Crown - the repair crop Dec. 2022.jpg

I started pulling all the packing material off the new stove. The first thing I noticed was the top wasn’t square. I soon found the problem: To the right of the 2 screws above, the brown curved area, this part of the top was not on the support for it coming out from the 2 screws section.

My helper friend was here and I recruited his strong hands. The screw at the bottom of the photo was missing and the bar and 2 metal sections had to be lined up to get the screw in place. Once it was in place you could see how the sections had gotten bent without the support. But the top straightened up some.

New Crown - burners and trays crop Dec. 2022.jpg

Next I unwrapped all the burners and covers. Both were in worse shape than mine. But both had a nib and a hole for the nib so they were not interchangeable with mine.

New Crown - burners off center crop Dec. 2022.jpg

So I got 2 of mine to see if they fit and they did. But the far left and far right burners were not centered on either mine or the ones belonging to the stove. (Mine in center, others on right.)

New Crown - simmer stars crop Dec. 2022.jpg

There’s a tube in the center of the burner and these little “stars” are called simmer stars and fit over the tubes.

New Crown - griddle crop Dec. 2022.jpg

The next thing I unwrapped was a 2 burner griddle. It was in rough shape, needing cleaned off and reseasoned. (On my stove.)

New Crown - broiler pans and racks crop Dec. 2022.jpg

Next I unwrapped the racks for the oven and the broiler components. All were very dirty.

New Crown - as far as I got crop Dec. 2022.jpg

By then it was after 10:00AM. I was a bit discouraged by what I was finding and had been up and going since 3AM. I was getting pretty tired so I quit at this point.

Snowed all day crop Dec. 2022.jpg

My helper friend got the floors cleaned up and we moved all the stuff back into place. It continued to snow until about 2:00 and I sat and read more of Gone with the Wind.

Balanchine's The Nutcracker crop Dec. 2022.jpg

I needed to lay down so I put Balanchine’s The Nutcracker DVD in and eventually fell asleep for an hour. When I went out at 4:00 to do chores, I had to sweep all the slush off the steps and walkways around the house. We’d gotten about 2½”.

On Sunday I don’t have plans, maybe finish wrapping presents, maybe tackle some chores, maybe mess with the new stove. Maybe finish Gone with the Wind…

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now