Resting - June 5, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Fed up with the coughing crop June 2024.jpg

On Wednesday it was to be a good day outside, at least in the early morning. But with only 4 hours of sleep and hours of coughing, I was too exhausted. I got my post up and rested. Closed the house up against the coming heat and rested.

Usually I had a coughing fit at the start of each rest period. But it would subside and I could rest in my chair. Late morning I got a load of dishes in the dishwasher and rested. Mid afternoon I got a second done.

Because of the coughing Larry didn’t want to spend much time in my lap, and as it got hotter, the floor was the choice. He’d tried to open the screen door to my bedroom during the night on Tuesday, so I had to shut the door.

Screen door hook crop June 2024.jpg

My brother said he came up to his room for attention twice. So late afternoon, I put a lower hook on the bottom of the screen door. I know it looks like copper but it is just rusty and actually blends in very well with the door color.

Dennis in haybox crop March 2023.jpg

Some sad news is that Dennis the Girl didn’t come for breakfast at the barn back on May 30th. She’s done this before, been gone for up to 3 days. But 5 days went by without the food being touched. I called the neighbors to see if they’d seen her.

The one to the south said 2 evenings before she’d gone out the garage and a big bobcat was sitting there watching her. I suspect it also got Lily (our other barn cat last year), the neighbor to the north’s calico cat this spring, and now Dennis. That takes care of all the outside cats in our neighborhood. Maybe now it will take down some of the rabbits and rats…

The coughing has really reduced, though I still have some hard fits of it. I hope to get more sleep on Wednesday night. On Thursday it’s supposed to rain all day and in the afternoon, I have a quilling class at the Senior Center. I expect I will work on bills, finish cleaning up the kitchen and get the laundry folded and put away, if the coughing lets me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center