Pantry Work - September 26, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

Pantry - organizing1 crop July 2021.jpg

In 2021 when the pantry was being built, I had to move things out of the old pantry so the shelves could be taken down to be reused. Things were put wherever there was room, very little organization.

My herbs and spices ended up in the new white cabinet because they (mostly) fit there. It wasn’t a good place because it wasn’t dark.

So on Tuesday when I found out it was to be cold and damp most of the day, I opted to reorganize in the pantry where it was just a bit warmer. I keep the window open in the pantry at night to cool it down, as cool and dark is best for storing foodstuffs, etc.

Pantry - dark cupboard reorganized crop Sept. 2023.jpg

So when my general helper got here at 8AM we started emptying out the white cabinet. I tossed the really old stuff, some of which should have been tossed in 2021. We got the overflow of herbs and spices from the dark cabinet and got everything in alphabetical order on the counter.

Except for the top shelf which is all teas, we went through the other 3 shelves in the dark cabinet and tossed old stuff (one was from 2013!). The 3rd shelf became the herbs shelf, the 2nd medicinals, and the bottom large jars and oils and vinegars.

Now, except for herbs, I won’t be able to find anything for a while.

White cabinet - canned goods crop Sept. 2023.jpg

I don’t have a lot of store bought stuff and it all fit on the white cabinet’s top shelf. Once it was all done, my helper emptied the old jars and took it out to the compost. Then I had her wipe down the outside of the dark cabinet with hydrogen peroxide. That cabinet and the outside of the old corner cabinet both had started mold.

Office - SW window plants crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Looking west from my chair in the late afternoon sun

I got a load of jars into the dishwasher and we were done. She had to go and I finished the laundry and got the kitchen cleaned up. Larry helped me watch a movie and later, read in my chair.

Wednesday is to be a beautiful day and my granddaughter is supposed to come pick out gourds for her school. I’m not sure what I am doing in the morning.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment