Organizing the Pantry - July 4, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Pantry - organizing9 crop July 2021.jpg

I am getting mighty sick of the disorganization and mess in the house. On Sunday I was determined to at least get the tall white cabinets done. Still not feeling great, but determined aka stubborn….

Pantry - organizing3 crop July 2021.jpg

So I started on the side where the brooms and mops will go and got some nails in the support and those things hung up. I’d put some cleaning stuff in there, but there was a lot of stuff just tossed in to get it out of the way.

I took that out, but there was nowhere to put it. So I opened another cabinet and put it there. Then I hauled the rest of the cleaning stuff from the old pantry and got it on the shelves.

I was on a roll and went up stairs and took down the rack that holds the vacuum hose and put that up. I hung up a few other things in the cabinet and it was done.

Pantry - organizing4 crop July 2021.jpg

In the other side, I’d thought I wanted to raise the shelf the spices and herbs were on. So I started taking them out. When I got to a large bottle in the back and realized I could just get it out, I changed my mind and left it.

I had 2 extra shelves from the cleaning side that I wanted to put in. But first I had to make sure the very big things were in first: the stainless steel bowl stack, and the colander/strainer stack. Once they were in, it was obvious that at best I’d be able to only use 1 shelf on the bottom section.

I debated about stacking the lightbulb boxes but realized if I put in a shelf for each one, the shelves would be very low, and not much would fit. But if I stacked them, I could get all the thermoses and water bottles in beside them.

Then I realized there was one other big item: the roasting/baking pans. I got them into the top section, and outside of a few dead space areas, the cabinet was full. I tried putting all my measuring containers in those, but didn’t like them in separate places. I found some other items and this cabinet was done.

Pantry - organizing1 crop July 2021.jpg

The big cabinet had been done a few days ago, but I filled the bottom of it with odd things I don’t use a lot.

Pantry - organizing2 crop July 2021.jpg

The dish cabinet had been the first one filled about a week ago.

Pantry - organizing5 crop July 2021.jpg

This is the too small sink base the carpenter was able to make usable. It’s hard to get into, being so low. So I put things I seldom use in there.

Pantry - organizing6 crop July 2021.jpg

I didn’t change the shelves in this cabinet as all the things I’d planned to put in there fit just right.

Pantry - organizing7 crop July 2021.jpg

The measuring containers ended up in the lazy susan, along with the food processor.

Pantry - organizing8 crop July 2021.jpg

I brought the breadbox in from the kitchen and the pretty old storage tins. I decided to put some of the enamelware on the shelves too. I had thought it would all be on the shelves in the clean room. Maybe later it will all end up there.

There are still 2 sets of shelves to build and finish on the east side of the pantry. I hope they, and the marble counter, get done this week. Stuff needs to be put away, so I can spend a lot of time trying to find things. It will be a LONG time before I know where everything is again.

It took me 5 hours to get this far. I did some cleaning, but the whole project is a bit overwhelming. I think once it is done, I will have someone come in to help me clean, put down shelf paper, and finish organizing.

Greens and Flowers salad crop July 2021.jpg

Sunday afternoon I went to a 4th cookout at some friends'. I made a mesclun/greens salad with many edible flowers: roses, bee balm, calendula, nasturtiums, borage, mustard flowers, and heartsease. The greens were what I had in the garden: various lettuces, mustard greens, Asian greens, kale, broccoli, beet greens, pea shoots, and I forget what else.

There was a month old baby there I got to hold for a while. While the guys shot off fireworks, we watched the pack of dogs that lives there chase a tennis ball over and over. There was strawberry shortcake for dessert. I got home in time for my bedtime, a plus as Monday is to be cool and cloudy and I hope to get a lot of stuff planted and mulched in the New Herb garden.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments