Nothing Much - August 8, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Supper crop August 2021.jpg

On Sunday as it was so humid and hot, I decided to stay inside. Did I mention the mosquitoes? Little ones, voracious, clouds of them…. We’d had nearly none all summer and about a week ago these appeared. The poor bats must be working overtime and still not making a dent.

I spent the day sending out invites for the party and trying to get organized to deal with the responses. I also got laundry done so when the carpenter arrives on Monday (my usual laundry day) he can tear the laundry room apart to grout the rest of the floor. My neighbor went to the city south of us and picked up the bag of grout for me.

Mid afternoon I decided I wanted zoodles for supper and went out to find a zucchini. Wellll…. I could not find the zucchini plant in all the pumpkins. (It just now occurred to me, the zucchini wasn’t planted there, and I guess that’s why….) I did find where the woodchuck had eaten the tops off the broccoli. That wasn’t a big loss as they’d been very poorly anyways. And I found these 4 tiny artichokes.

It’s amazing what the difference using a pot of sufficient size to grow seedlings makes. These (broccoli and artichokes) were bought seedlings in the tiny black plastic pots. I use 4” pots for each plant. I get lovely strong plants. But at least I did get artichokes, and though they were small, there was enough for me for supper.

I didn’t know if they would be any good so I’d collected the cukes and the first intact tomato to ripen.

On Monday I need to pick the last of the green beans. I should tie up the peppers and cut suckers off the tomatoes, which are going wild again. It’s to be very hot and humid and get worse during the week, so I’d best get it done. I’ll have to help the carpenter move cabinets. And maybe I’ll look for zucchini where they were planted….

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center